Minutes: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, March 04, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Nolz,

Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Rice, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Gosch, and Rep. Overweg

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 27TH

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hunt

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: RECONSIDER SB 14

Moved by: Vasgaard Second by: Van Diepen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

SB 14: revise and repeal provisions related to agricultural production facilities and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Representative Kent Roe

Opponents: Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

MOTION: AMEND SB 14

14E

On page 4, line 15, of the Senate Judiciary Engrossed bill, after "felony." delete "Section 6. That a NEW SECTION be added to chapter 34A-2:

On page 4, line 16, of the Senate Judiciary Engrossed bill, after "34A-2:" delete "The department may not provide an aggregated list, regardless of physical form, containing the address, geographic coordinate systems location, or legal location of a concentrated animal feeding operation with coverage under a general or individual water pollution control permit issued pursuant to § 34A-2-36, except as required by federal law or regulation, or at the discretion of the department in response to a request from a South Dakota state agency or local government for information regarding a permitted operation in the jurisdiction of the agency or local government."

Moved by: Vasgaard Second by: Van Diepen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 14 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Peterson (Drew) Second by: Van Diepen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

SB 202: create the water infrastructure development fund.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel

Proponents: Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City

Debra Owen, Black Hills Corp, Rapid City

Opponents: Andy Bruels, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Julie M. Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen

MOTION: DO PASS SB 202

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Ladner

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-9-0-0)

Voting Yes: Goodwin, Ladner, Peterson (Drew), and Wittman

Voting No: Auch, Hunt, Ismay, Nolz, Rice, Vasgaard, Van Diepen, Gosch, and Overweg

MOTION: DEFER SB 202 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Auch Second by: Vasgaard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Hunt, Ismay, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard, Van Diepen,

Gosch, and Overweg

Voting No: Goodwin, Ladner, and Wittman

SJR 501: Providing legislative approval for a future use water permit application by the Western Dakota Regional Water System.

Presented by: Representative Drew Peterson Proponents: Senator Helene Duhamel

Jake Fitzgerald, Self, WRLS, WDRWS, Murdo, SD (Handout(s) 1,2)

Corey Chorne, Self, AEZS, WDRWS, Bismarck

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City

Mark Mayer, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City, IA

Others: Eric Gronlund, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DO PASS SJR 501

Moved by: Van Diepen Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, and Overweg

Voting No: Nolz and Gosch

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Hunt

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair