Minutes: House Local Government Tuesday, March 04, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Andera, Rep. Bathke, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Heermann,

Rep. Kull, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Roby, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Auch, and Rep. Jamison

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 25TH

Moved by: Mulally Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 128: amend requirements for an official newspaper.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

Proponents: Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 128

Moved by: Ladner Second by: Bathke

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Roby,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison

Excused: Andera

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 128 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 163: require certain firefighting equipment purchased by a fire department contain particular labeling.

Presented by: Senator Liz Larson

Opponents: Paul Merriman, Department of Public Safety

Tyler Steen, Department of Public Safety

Steve Willard, South Dakota Joint Fire Council, Rapid City

MOTION: AMEND SB 163

163A

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, delete "require certain firefighting equipment purchased by a fire department contain particular labeling" and insert "allow the purchasing of certain firefighting equipment by a fire department to contain particular labeling" On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, after "may" delete "only"

Moved by: Roby

Second by: Andera

Action: Failed by roll call vote (3-10-0-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Roby, and Auch

Voting No: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Van Diepen,

Wittman, and Jamison

MOTION: DEFER SB 163 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Van Diepen Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS SB 163

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Andera

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, DeGroot, Heermann, Kull, Roby, Wittman, and Auch

Voting No: Bathke, Fitzgerald, Ladner, Mulally, Van Diepen, and Jamison

SB 127: authorize the expenditure of moneys by a municipality for the observance of additional holidays.

Presented by: Representative Jack R. Kolbeck

Proponents: Senator Steve Kolbeck

Representative Steve Duffy

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Mike Bockorny, Economic Development Professionals Association, Aberdeen David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Pierre

Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Katie Sieverding, Sioux Falls Airport Authority, Sioux Falls

Patrick Dame, Rapid City Regional Airport Dan Letellier, Sioux Falls Regional Airport

Opponents: Linda Montgomery, Self, Fairview

MOTION: AMEND SB 127

127B

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, delete " by a municipality for the observance of additional holidays" and insert " and make an appropriation for grants supporting airport terminal improvements and expansion"

On the Introduced bill, delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

11

Section 1. There is appropriated \$100 from the general fund, to the South Dakota Aeronautics Commission, for grants to support the improvement, expansion, and future capacity demands of terminals at public airports in this state.

Section 2. The Aeronautics Commission shall make grants pursuant to § 50-2-12.

Section 3. The secretary of the Department of Transportation shall approve vouchers and the state auditor shall draw warrants to pay expenditures authorized in this Act.

Section 4. Any amounts appropriated in this Act not lawfully expended or obligated shall revert in accordance with the procedures prescribed in chapter 4-8.

Section 5. This Act is effective beginning June 30, 2025."

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Roby

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen,

Wittman, and Jamison

Voting No: Andera, Mulally, and Auch

MOTION: REFER SB 127 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS

AMENDED WITH A DO PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Roby Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, and

Jamison

Voting No: Andera, Fitzgerald, Mulally, and Auch

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Kull

Second by: Heermann

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ GREG JAMISON Greg Jamison, Chair