Minutes: Senate Health and Human Services Monday, March 03, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Grove, Sen. Perry, Sen. Reed, Sen. Smith, Sen. Voight, Sen. Davis, and

Sen. Jensen (Kevin)

The meeting was called to order by Senator Jensen (Kevin)

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 26<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Reed Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1015: increase licensure fees related to the practice of funeral service and

cremation.

Presented by: James Jones, South Dakota Board of Funeral Service, Parker

Brooke Tellinghuisen-Geddes, Board of Funeral DIrectors

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1015

Moved by: Davis Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Grove, Perry, Reed, Smith, Voight, Davis, and Jensen (Kevin)

HB 1132: establish provisions for eligibility in the child care assistance program for certain child care employees.

Presented by: Senator Tim Reed

Proponents: Brookland Rollag, LALC, Self, Madison

Keiz Larson, YMCA of Rapid City, Self, Rapid City, South Dakota Mike Bockorny, Aberdeen Area Chamber of Commerce, Aberdeen Mike Bockorny, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen Mike Brockorny, Economic Development Professional Association

Mike Bockorny, South Dakota Association for Education of Young Children,

Box Elder

Justin G. Smith, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City

Melissa McCauley, South Dakota Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Matt Althoff, Secretary, Department of Social Services

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1132

Moved by: Davis Second by: Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Grove, Perry, Reed, Smith, and Davis

Voting No: Voight and Jensen (Kevin)

**HB 1016:** revise provisions related to pharmacy.

Presented by: Tyler Laetsch, Board of Pharmacy

Proponents: Craig Matson, South Dakota Pharmacists Association, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1016

Moved by: Smith Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Grove, Perry, Reed, Smith, Voight, Davis, and Jensen (Kevin)

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Davis Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ KEVIN D. JENSEN Kevin D. Jensen, Chair