Minutes: Senate Committee on Appropriations Monday, March 03, 2025 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Miskimins, Sen. Vilhauer, Sen. Carley, Sen. Voita, Sen. Howard,

Sen. Foster, Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Lapka, and Sen. Otten

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 25TH

Moved by: Vilhauer Second by: Voita

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1021: modify the annual fee for concentrated animal feeding operations and to establish an application fee.

Presented by: Kent Woodmansey, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Proponents: Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre

Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Brenda Forman, SD Dairy Producers, Brookings

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1021

Moved by: Miskimins Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Vilhauer, Voita, Foster, Zikmund, and Otten

Voting No: Carley, Howard, and Lapka

HB 1036: establish a minimum combined balance of the budget reserve fund and general revenue replacement fund.

Presented by: Steven Kohler, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1036

Moved by: Howard Second by: Carley

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Howard, Foster, Zikmund, Lapka, and

Otten

HB 1037 : suspend the tax collection allowance credit for filing returns and remitting taxes electronically.

Presented by: Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

Opponents: Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre (Handout(s) 1)

Jason Alan Glodt, National Federation of Independent Business, Washington,

D.C.

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1037

Moved by: Howard Second by: Lapka

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Howard, Foster, Lapka, and Otten

Voting No: Miskimins and Zikmund

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Howard Second by: Voita

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Joslyn Jessop, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERNIE OTTEN Ernie Otten, Chair