Minutes: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, February 27, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Nolz,

Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Rice, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Gosch, and Rep. Overweg

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 25TH

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 14: revise and repeal provisions related to agricultural production facilities and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Representative Kent Roe

Proponents: Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Brian Walsh, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Brenda Forman, SD Dairy Producers, Brookings

Liz Stavick, South Dakota Agri-Business Association, Pierre

Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Ag Alliance, Pierre

Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Presho

Opponents: Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City, IA

Frank Kloucek, Self, Scotland

MOTION: DEFER SB 14 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Hunt Second by: Auch

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS SB 14

Moved by: Peterson (Drew)

Second by: Goodwin

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Goodwin, Ladner, Peterson (Drew), Vasgaard, Van Diepen, and Overweg

Voting No: Auch, Hunt, Ismay, Nolz, Rice, Wittman, and Gosch

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER SB 14 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Auch Second by: Hunt

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Hunt, Ismay, Nolz, Rice, Wittman, and Gosch

Voting No: Goodwin, Ladner, Peterson (Drew), Vasgaard, Van Diepen, and Overweg

SB 78 : authorize a change in bullet diameter for use in taking certain

animals.

Presented by: Representative Spencer Gosch

Senator Kevin D. Jensen

Opponents: Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City, IA

MOTION: DO PASS SB 78

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Nolz

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 78 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 15: expand the policy advisory committee for animal damage control.

Presented by: Representative Curt Massie

Proponents: Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 15

Moved by: Auch Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 15 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Presentation by the Leopold Award Winners Blioux River Ranch- Barry and Eli Little

House Ad	ariculture	and	Natural	Resources
1005071	ar icuicui c	ana	i vacai ai	i (Cooui Coo

Thursday, February 27, 2025 7:45 AM

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Hunt Second by: Rice

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair