Minutes: House Education Wednesday, February 26, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Baxter, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Garcia, Rep. Halverson,

Rep. Heermann, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Jensen (Phil), Rep. Jordan, Rep. Manhart, Rep. Rice, Rep. Schwans, Rep. Uhre-Balk, Rep. Stevens, and Rep. Greenfield

The meeting was called to order by Representative Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST

Moved by: Manhart Second by: Rice

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 208: amend provisions pertaining to a school district's proposed opt out, capital outlay certificate, or other agreement.

Presented by: Senator Sue Peterson

Proponents: Jennifer Beving, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Sioux Falls

Samuel J. Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Sioux Falls

Mitch Richter, South Dakota United School Association, Milbank

MOTION: DEFER SB 208 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: DeGroot Second by: Halverson

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (7-8-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Uhre-Balk, Stevens, and Greenfield

Voting No: Baxter, Garcia, Ismay, Jensen (Phil), Jordan, Manhart, Rice, and Schwans

MOTION: DO PASS SB 208

Moved by: Manhart Second by: Garcia

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Baxter, Garcia, Ismay, Jensen (Phil), Jordan, Manhart, Rice, and Schwans

Voting No: Arlint, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Uhre-Balk, Stevens, and Greenfield

SB 219: require the acceptance of a cash payment for admission to a school-affiliated event.

Presented by: Representative John Sjaarda

Proponents: Manuel Luschas, Self, Brandon (Handout(s) 1)

Opponents: Daniel Swartos, South Dakota High School Activities Association, Pierre

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

David Maxwell, Self, Sioux Falls Steve Moore, Self, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 219

Moved by: Manhart Second by: Schwans

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Baxter, Garcia, Halverson, Ismay, Jensen (Phil), Jordan, Manhart, Rice,

Schwans, and Greenfield

Voting No: Arlint, DeGroot, Heermann, Uhre-Balk, and Stevens

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rice Second by: Garcia

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA J. GREENFIELD Lana J. Greenfield, Chair