

2025 South Dakota Legislature

House Concurrent Resolution 6002 ENROLLED

An Act

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Urging the United States Congress and the President of the United States to remove the requirement of a project labor agreement for federal construction projects.

WHEREAS, Executive Order 14063, signed on February 4, 2022, requires the use of a project labor agreement for a construction project that is contracted with the federal government and has a total estimated cost of thirty-five million dollars or more; and

WHEREAS, a project labor agreement, as provided for in 48 C.F.R. § 22.502, is a pre-hire collective bargaining agreement with a labor organization; and

WHEREAS, in awarding a contract for a construction project, a federal agency shall require a contractor or subcontractor engaged in a federal government construction project to agree to negotiate or become a party to a project labor agreement with a labor organization; and

WHEREAS, the Ellsworth Air Force Base, located in South Dakota, is a federal property that will require a contract with the federal government for construction projects on the base; and

WHEREAS, South Dakota is a right-to-work state and does not require a person to join a labor organization; and

WHEREAS, the requirement of a project labor agreement would prohibit South Dakotans who are not members in a labor organization from being able to work on construction projects on the Ellsworth Air Force Base that would meet the requirements of Executive Order 14063;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the One Hundredth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the House of Representatives concurring therein, that the United States Congress and the President of the United States be urged to overturn Executive Order 14063 by passing legislation that would remove the requirement of a project labor agreement for federal construction projects.

Adopted by the House of Representatives, Concurred in by the Senate,

February 12, 2025 February 21, 2025

Jon Hansen Speaker of the House Patricia Miller Chief Clerk

Chris Karr President Pro Tempore of the Senate Peggy Laurenz Secretary of the Senate