Minutes: House Commerce and Energy Monday, February 24, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Aylward, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Greenfield, Rep. Kayser, Rep. Mulally,

Rep. Nolz, Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Schwans, Rep. Shorma, Rep. Uhre-

Balk, Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Bahmuller, and Rep. Lems

The meeting was called to order by Representative Lems

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST

Moved by: Uhre-Balk Second by: Kayser

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1228: require an environmental impact statement from applicants seeking a carbon dioxide transmission facility permit from the Public Utilities Commission of the State of South Dakota.

Presented by: Representative John Hughes

Proponents: Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Opponents: Brett Koenecke, Summit Carbon Solutions, Ames, IA

Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1228

Moved by: Nolz Second by: Schwans

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Greenfield, Kayser, Mulally, Nolz, Schwans, Uhre-Balk, Bahmuller,

and Lems

Voting No: Duffy, Peterson (Drew), Shorma, and Weisgram

HCR 6006: Urging the State Investment Council to invest in Bitcoin.

Presented by: Representative Logan Manhart

MOTION: TO TABLE HCR 6006

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Schwans

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Duffy, Greenfield, Kayser, Mulally, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Schwans,

Shorma, Uhre-Balk, Weisgram, Bahmuller, and Lems

HB 1202: permit the state to invest in Bitcoin.

Presented by: Representative Logan Manhart

Proponents: Ben Wiener, Self, Sioux Falls

Barry Sackett, Self, Sioux Falls Alex Cutchey, Self, Sioux Falls Nichole Braithwait, Self, Spearfish

Opponents: Matt Clark, South Dakota Investment Council

Duncan Koch, Bureau of Finance and Management

Susan Luschas, Self, Brandon Laura Piening, Self, Rapid City

MOTION: DEFER HB 1202 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Greenfield Second by: Shorma

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Duffy, Greenfield, Peterson (Drew), Schwans, Shorma, Uhre-Balk, Weisgram,

Bahmuller, and Lems

Voting No: Aylward, Kayser, and Nolz

Excused: Mulally

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Nolz Second by: Bahmuller

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ KARLA J. LEMS Karla J. Lems, Chair