Minutes: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 25, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Marty, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Voight, Sen. Jensen

(Kevin), and Sen. Pischke

The meeting was called to order by Senator Pischke

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20TH

Moved by: Voight

Second by: Jensen (Kevin)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1021: modify the annual fee for concentrated animal feeding operations and

to establish an application fee.

Presented by: Kent Woodmansey, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

(Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Brenda Forman, SD Dairy Producers, Brookings

Others: Troy Roth, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: REFER HB 1021 TO SENATE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH

A DO PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Davis Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Marty, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

Excused: Duhamel and Rohl

HB 1236: expand the safety zone within which hunting and trapping are

restricted.

Presented by: Representative Rebecca Reimer

Proponents: Pat West, Meade County Sheriff, Self, Sturgis (Handout(s) 2)

Cody Weyer, Self, Howes

Kevin Shumaker, Self, Howard (Handout(s) 3)

Shane Kramme, Self, Fort Pierre

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre

Opponents: George Morey Vandel III, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

George Morey Vandel III, South Dakota Waterfowl Association, Webster Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, Pierre

Dana Rogers, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

Chris Gukeisen, Self, Pierre Justin Wills, Self, Rapid City James Brown, Self, Box Elder Paul Kuhlman, Self, Avon

MOTION: DEFER HB 1236 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Jensen (Kevin)

Second by: Pischke

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1236

Moved by: Davis Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Marty, Rohl, and Voight

Voting No: Duhamel, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lexie Schumacher, Committee Secretary

_______/s/ TOM PISCHKE
Tom Pischke, Chair