Minutes: Senate Local Government Wednesday, February 26, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Nelson, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Smith, Sen. Wheeler,

Sen. Duhamel, and Sen. Reed

The meeting was called to order by Senator Duhamel

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1194: authorize the cooperation of counties for purposes of operating an office of county director of equalization.

Presented by: Senator Randy Deibert

Proponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1194

Moved by: Schoenfish Second by: Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Rohl, Schoenfish, Smith, Wheeler, Duhamel, and Reed

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1194 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

Gavel was passed to Chair Reed.

HB 1154: change the approval requirement for the construction or expansion of a municipal camping or tourist accommodation facility.

Presented by: Representative Jeff Bathke

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Opponents: Mary Arlington, South Dakota Campground Owners Association (SDCOA),

Pierre

Justin G. Smith, Tourism Coalition of South Dakota, Yankton

Steven Saint, Self, Custer William Paterson, Self, Custer Jennifer Lynch, Self, Custer

MOTION: DEFER HB 1154 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Rohl, Smith, Wheeler, Duhamel, and Reed

Voting No: Schoenfish

HB 1157: amend the maximum fee limit due when applying for a county drainage permit.

Presented by: Representative Jeff Bathke

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1157

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Nelson, Schoenfish, Smith, Wheeler, and Reed

Voting No: Rohl and Duhamel

HB 1261: provide the board of commissioners with authority over certain intracounty land uses and construction projects.

Presented by: Senator Sydney Davis Proponents: Randy Gross, Self, Elkton

Joe Landeen, Self, Glenwood Township

Jim Schmidt, Self, Lincoln County Director of Equalization, Sioux Falls

Paul Tschetter, Self, Sioux Falls

Paul Kostboth, A1 Development Solutions, Sioux Falls Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Matthew McCaulley, Farm Credit Services of America, Omaha, NE

Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners,

Pierre

Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Soybean Association, Sioux Falls Mike Bockorny, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen Troy Roth, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Brenda Forman, SD Dairy Producers, Brookings

Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Representative Jeff Bathke

Opponents: Kathy Tyler, Self, Big Stone City

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Travis Paulson, South Dakota Associations of Towns and Townships, Huron Kody Ray Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Others: Representative Drew Peterson

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1261

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Rohl, Wheeler, Duhamel, and Reed

Voting No: Nelson, Schoenfish, and Smith

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ TIM S. REED Tim S. Reed, Chair