Minutes: House Agriculture and Natural Resources

Tuesday, February 25, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Nolz, Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Rice, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Van Diepen, Rep. Wittman, Rep. Gosch, and Rep. Overweg

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20TH

Moved by:	Van Diepen
Second by:	Wittman
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

SB 79 : permit the operation of a Class I electric bicycle on the Mickelson Trail.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin Proponents: Senator Taffy Howard (Handout(s) 1) Representative Tesa Schwans Taylor Bright, Self, Wyoming, Kent Jacobs, Self, Rapid City Opponents: Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 79

Moved by:	Vasgaard
Second by:	Nolz
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard, Van Diepen, Gosch, and Overweg

Voting No: Wittman

SB 34 : update the roles of the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources and the Department of Public Safety regarding burning and burn permit issuing authority.

Presented by: Bill Smith, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Proponents: Kristi Turman, Department of Public Safety

MOTION: DO PASS SB 34

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard, Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 34 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 170 : authorize the South Dakota State Brand Board to enter a memorandum of understanding with any Indian tribe for the investigation of cattle theft.

Presented by: Ross B. Garelick Bell, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Rosebud

MOTION: DO PASS SB 170

Moved by:	Auch
Second by:	Ladner
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard, Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 170 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:GoschSecond by:NolzAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair