Minutes: Senate Commerce and Energy

### Roll Call

Present: Sen. Beal, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Karr, Sen. Kolbeck (Steve), Sen. Larson, Sen. Perry, and Sen. Crabtree Excused: Sen. Hohn and Sen. Peterson (Sue)

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 24<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:	Perry
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:	Perry
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

## HB 1166 : enhance penalties for the violation of right-to-work statutes and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Representative Tony Randolph

Proponents: Kristie Brunick, South Dakota Association of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors, Sioux Falls Jennifer Beving, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls
Opponents: Kory Rawstern, SD State Federation of Labor AFL-CIO, Sioux Falls James L. Heeren, Teamsters Local 120, Sioux Falls Brian Lindquist, Self, Pierre Gary Hudiburgh, UBC-Sota South Dakota, Self, Custer Eric Ollila, Self, Sioux Falls David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Brendan Farrell, Self, Tea Michael Plank, Self, Rapid City Matt Edzards, Self, Sioux Falls

### **MOTION:** DEFER HB 1166 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Larson Second by: Kolbeck (Steve)
- Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Deibert, Kolbeck (Steve), and Larson

Voting No: Beal, Karr, Perry, and Crabtree

Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

### MOTION: DO PASS HB 1166

Moved by:	Karr
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Karr, Perry, and Crabtree

Voting No: Deibert, Kolbeck (Steve), and Larson

Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

#### THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1166 UNTIL THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 27<sup>™</sup> 2025

## HB 1079 : increase the number of off-sale licenses from two to three in municipalities and counties of one thousand or less.

Presented by: Representative David Kull

Proponents: Bill Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Samuel J. Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

#### MOTION: DO PASS HB 1079

Moved by:	Kolbeck (Steve)
-----------	-----------------

- Second by: Deibert
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Karr, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Perry, and Crabtree
- Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

#### MOTION: PLACE HB 1079 ON CONSENT CALENDAR

## ALOYSIUS RIEMAN OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA ELLSWORTH DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

Presented by: Jayden Bies, Governor's Office

#### MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF ALOYSIUS RIEMAN OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA ELLSWORTH DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

- Moved by: Kolbeck (Steve)
- Second by: Deibert
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Karr, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Perry, and Crabtree
- Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

# MICHAEL CARTNEY OF DEUEL COUNTY, REVILLO, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA ELLSWORTH DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

Presented by: Jayden Bies, Governor's Office Proponents: Michael Cartney, Self, Revillo

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MICHAEL CARTNEY OF DEUEL COUNTY, REVILLO, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA ELLSWORTH DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

Moved by:	Deibert
Second by:	Larson
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)
Voting Yes:	Beal, Deibert, Karr, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Perry, and Crabtree

Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

# ROGER MUSICK OF DAVISON COUNTY, MITCHELL, SD, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY

Presented by: Timothy Engel, SD Science & Technology Authority

#### MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT OF ROGER MUSICK OF DAVISON COUNTY, MITCHELL, SD, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY

Moved by:	Kolbeck (Steve)
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Karr, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Perry, and Crabtree

Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

#### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF ROGER MUSICK OF DAVISON COUNTY, MITCHELL, SD, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# PATRICIA LEBRUN OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SD, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY

Presented by: Timothy Engel, SD Science & Technology Authority

#### MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT OF PATRICIA LEBRUN OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SD, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY

Moved by:DeibertSecond by:LarsonAction:Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Karr, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Perry, and Crabtree

Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

#### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF PATRICIA LEBRUN OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SD, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# TIMOTHY DONOHUE OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

Presented by: Norman Lingle, Department of Revenue

### MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT OF TIMOTHY DONOHUE OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION

- Moved by: Beal
- Second by: Perry
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Karr, Kolbeck (Steve), Larson, Perry, and Crabtree
- Excused: Hohn and Peterson (Sue)

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF TIMOTHY DONOHUE OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE SOUTH DAKOTA LOTTERY COMMISSION AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

#### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:PerrySecond by:LarsonAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE Casey Crabtree, Chair