Minutes: House State Affairs Monday, February 24, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Emery, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy,

Rep. Heinemann, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Lems, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Schaefbauer,

Rep. Soye, Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Odenbach

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1134: make an appropriation benefitting South Dakota.

Presented by: Representative Scott Odenbach

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1134

Moved by: Heinemann Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch,

Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery

HB 1135: provide opportunities for South Dakotans.

Presented by: Representative Scott Odenbach

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1135

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Gosch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Schaefbauer,

Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Healy

Excused: Emery

HB 1149: make an appropriation benefitting South Dakotans.

Presented by: Representative Scott Odenbach

DO PASS HB 1149 MOTION:

Moved by: Jamison Second by: Lems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Schaefbauer,

Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Healy

Excused: **Emery**

HB 1150: address issues facing South Dakota.

Presented by: Representative Scott Odenbach

DO PASS HB 1150 MOTION:

Moved by: Jamison Second by: Hansen

Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0) Action:

Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Schaefbauer, Voting Yes:

Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Emery and Healy

HB 1204: revise the subpoena powers of the Government Operations and Audit

Committee.

Presented by: Representative Julie K. Auch Proponents: Rick Weible, Self, Elkton

Others: Michael Houdyshell, Secretary, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1204

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Lems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems,

Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Reisch

limit the amount of money that may be transferred to a candidate or HB 1242: political committee by the authorized committee of a candidate for federal office.

Presented by: Representative Spencer Gosch

Opponents: Rick Weible, Self, Elkton

MOTION: AMEND HB 1242

1242A

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, delete " or" and insert " campaign committee, a"

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "political " insert "action "

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "committee" insert ", or a political party"
On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, delete " political committee" and insert " candidate

campaign committee, political action committee, or political party"

Moved by: Jamison Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1242 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer,

Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Reisch

Excused: Emery

HJR 5005: Proposing and submitting to the voters at the next general election an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, limiting the assessed value of real property and limiting real property taxes.

Presented by: Representative John Sjaarda

MOTION: TO TABLE HJR 5005

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Soye

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch,

Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Healy Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ SCOTT ODENBACH
Scott Odenbach, Chair