Minutes: House State Affairs

Roll Call

Present:Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Emery, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy,
Rep. Heinemann, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Lems, Rep. Schaefbauer, Rep. Soye,
Rep. Overweg, and Rep. OdenbachExcused:Rep. Reisch

The meeting was called to order by Representative Odenbach

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 19TH

Moved by:	Overweg
Second by:	Soye
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1229 : provide an exemption from certain property taxation for owneroccupied single-family dwellings, and to limit the taxes due on property over the previous year.

Presented by: Representative John Hughes

Opponents: Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Cori Kaufmann, Self, President SD Association of Assessing Officers, Madison

MOTION: DEFER HB 1229 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved	by:	Bahmuller

Second by: Overweg

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-3-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, and Overweg
- Voting No: Schaefbauer, Soye, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery and Reisch

HB 1138 : reduce a maximum property tax mill levy on owner-occupied singlefamily dwellings for school district general funds, and to repeal certain sales tax exemptions.

Presented by: Representative Aaron Aylward

Proponents: Senator Taffy Howard (Handout(s) #1,2)

Opponents: Steve Willard, South Dakota Broadcasters Association, Pierre Justin G. Smith, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Justin G. Smith, Tourism Coalition of South Dakota, Yankton Justin G. Smith, Midcontinent Communications, Sioux Falls Justin G. Smith, South Dakota NewsMedia Association, Brookings Rick Hustead, Self, Wall Drug, Wall Deb Peters, Association of National Advertisers, Washington (Handout(s) #3,4) John Fiksdah, Self, Sioux Falls Katie Sieverding, South Dakota Hotel & Lodging Assoc, Pierre Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DEFER HB 1138 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved	by:	Jamison

Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Soye, and Overweg
- Voting No: Gosch, Schaefbauer, and Odenbach

Excused: Reisch

HB 1191 : subject advertising services to a gross receipts tax, and to allocate proceeds to property tax relief.

Presented by: Representative Karla J. Lems

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1191

- Moved by: Hansen
- Second by: Schaefbauer
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach
- Excused: Reisch

HB 1235 : reduce a limit on the annual increases of property tax revenues payable to certain taxing districts, and to subject school districts to a limit on property taxes collected in a year.

Presented by: Representative Greg Jamison

Opponents: Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue Dan Klimisch, Self, President South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1235

1235A

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "district" delete ", excluding the levy pursuant to § 10-13-36,"

On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "year" delete ", excluding the amount of taxes levied pursuant to § 10-13-36"

On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "§ 10-13-36." insert " This section does not apply to the amount of taxes levied pursuant to §§ 10-12-43, 10-13-36, 13-16-7, 13-16-7. 2, 13-16-7. 3, 13-16-10, and 13-37-16."

Moved by:OverwegSecond by:EmeryAction:Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1235 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Overweg
Second by:	Heinemann
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Gosch, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach
- Voting No: Bahmuller, Emery, and Healy

Excused: Reisch

HB 1119 : limit annual valuation increases on owner-occupied single-family dwellings and nonagricultural property.

MOTION: DEFER HB 1119 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Second by: Action:	Overweg Healy Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)
Voting Yes:	Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, and Overweg
Voting No:	Bahmuller, Schaefbauer, Soye, and Odenbach
Excused:	Reisch
MOTION:	ADJOURN
Moved by:	Overweg

Second by: Hansen Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ SCOTT ODENBACH Scott Odenbach, Chair