Minutes: Joint Committee on Appropriations

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Miskimins, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Moore, Sen. Vilhauer, Sen. Carley, Rep. May, Sen. Voita, Rep. Jorgenson, Sen. Howard, Sen. Foster, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. Muckey, Sen. Zikmund, Rep. Kolbeck (Jack), Rep. Novstrup, Sen. Lapka, Rep. Derby, and Sen. Otten

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 13TH

Moved by:	Sjaarda	
Second by:	Kolbeck (Jack)	
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote	

HB 1025 : authorize the Department of Corrections to construct a prison facility for offenders committed to the Department of Corrections in Lincoln County, to make an appropriation therefor, to transfer moneys to the incarceration construction fund, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by:	Ryan Brunner, Governor's Office
	Kellie Wasko, Secretary, Department of Corrections (Handout(s) 1) Brittni Skipper, Department of Corrections
Proponents:	Stacy Watters, Bureau of Human Resources and Administration
	Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka Eric Erickson, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Sioux Falls
	Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, Fort Pierre
Opponents:	Steven Haugaard, Self, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) 2,3)
	Madeline Voegeli, Self, Canton
	Don Jacobs, Self, Worthing
	Sarah Ulmer, Self, Harrisburg
	Dan Paulson, Self, Harrisburg
Others:	Dave Derry, Henry Carlson/JE Dunn JV, Sioux Falls
	Vance McMillan, Henry Carlson/JE Dunn JV, Sioux Falls
	A full list of others present can be found under committee documents 2-2

A full list of others present can be found under committee documents 2-20-25 Guest Register

MOTION: WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION HB 1025

Moved b	y:	Derby
---------	----	-------

Second by: Lapka

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (18-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, May, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard, Foster, Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Kassin

Second by: Voita Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Joslyn Jessop, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERNIE OTTEN Ernie Otten, Co-Chair /s/ MIKE DERBY Mike Derby, Co-Chair