Minutes: House Taxation Thursday, February 20, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Massie, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Czmowski, Rep. Randolph, Rep. Reder,

Rep. Roe, Rep. Walburg, Rep. Weems, Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Pourier,

Rep. Hughes, and Rep. Aylward

Excused: Rep. Bathke

The meeting was called to order by Representative Aylward

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 18TH

Moved by: Randolph Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1203: authorize the operation of pari-mutuel historical horse racing machines, and to authorize a new tax.

Presented by: Representative Mike Weisgram

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1203

Moved by: Weems Second by: Randolph

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Massie, Mortenson, Czmowski, Randolph, Reder, Roe, Walburg, Weems,

Weisgram, Pourier, Hughes, and Aylward

Excused: Bathke

Gavel was passed to Vice Chair Hughes

HB 1246: require the director of equalization to adjust certain agricultural land

values.

Presented by: Representative Trish Ladner

Proponents: Bill Kluck, Self, Butte

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Opponents: Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue

Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Presho Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1246

Moved by: Randolph Second by: Pourier

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-8-2-0)

Voting Yes: Randolph, Roe, and Pourier

Voting No: Massie, Mortenson, Czmowski, Reder, Walburg, Weems, Weisgram, and

Hughes

Excused: Bathke and Aylward

MOTION: DEFER HB 1246 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Weems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Massie, Mortenson, Czmowski, Reder, Walburg, Weems, Weisgram, and

Hughes

Voting No: Randolph, Roe, and Pourier

Excused: Bathke

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Roe

Second by: Czmowski

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leah Splichal, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOHN HUGHES

John Hughes, Vice-Chair