Minutes: House State Affairs Wednesday, February 19, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Emery, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy,

Rep. Jamison, Rep. Lems, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Schaefbauer, Rep. Soye,

Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Odenbach

Excused: Rep. Heinemann

#### The meeting was called to order by Representative Odenbach

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 12<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

### HB 1241: to reduce the growth in the assessed value of owner-occupied property tax assessments.

#### **MOTION:** TO TABLE HB 1241

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Gosch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Schaefbauer,

Overweg, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery, Heinemann, and Soye

# HB 1019: eliminate certain property taxes levied on owner-occupied single-family dwellings, and to increase certain gross receipts tax rates and use tax rates.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin (Handout(s) #1)

Proponents: Dennis Krull, Self, Hill City

Opponents: Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Jennifer Beving, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

#### MOTION: DO PASS HB 1019

Moved by: Reisch Second by: Healy

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-9-2-0)

Voting Yes: Emery and Reisch

Voting No: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer, Overweg,

and Odenbach

Excused: Heinemann and Soye

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1019 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Lems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-1-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer,

Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Reisch

Excused: Heinemann and Soye

## HB 1119: limit annual valuation increases on owner-occupied single-family dwellings and nonagricultural property.

Presented by: Representative Trish Ladner (Handout(s) #2)

Proponents: Dennis Krull, Self, Hill City

Opponents: Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Jennifer Beving, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls Samuel J. Nelson, Corn Growers Association, Sioux Falls

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Presho

**MOTION:** AMEND HB 1119

1119A

On page 1, line 9, of the Introduced bill, after "section." delete "When a change in ownership of an owner-occupied single-family dwelling or nonagricultural property occurs without the property being sold between a willing seller and a willing buyer in an armslength transaction, the assessed value of the property for that assessment year may increase more than three percent over the assessed value of the property in the prior year, and the assessed value of the property must equal the fair market value of the property as determined with appropriate consideration of the cost approach, the market approach, and the income approach.

When an owner-occupied single-family dwelling or nonagricultural property is sold between a willing seller and a willing buyer in an arms-length transaction, the property's assessed value in that year must equal the sales price of the property."

On page 1, line 20, of the Introduced bill, after "be" delete " further"

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Gosch

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

### THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1119 UNTIL FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 21<sup>ST</sup> 2025

## HCR 6003: To provide for an interim study regarding property tax reduction and preservation of the American dream to own a home.

Presented by: Representative Jon Hansen

**MOTION:** ADOPT RESOLUTION HCR 6003

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Lems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer, Soye,

Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Reisch

Excused: Heinemann

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Healy Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ SCOTT ODENBACH Scott Odenbach, Chair