Minutes: House Local Government Tuesday, February 18, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Andera, Rep. Bathke, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Heermann,

Rep. Kull, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Roby, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Auch, and Rep. Jamison

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 13TH

Moved by: Mulally Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER HB 1043 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Heermann

Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Van

Diepen, Auch, and Jamison

Excused: Roby and Wittman

HB 1261: provide the board of commissioners with authority over certain intracounty land uses and construction projects.

Presented by: Representative Drew Peterson Proponents: Randy Gross, Self, Elkton

Mike Jaspers, Self, Bridgewater

Michael Lee Bockorny, Economic Dev. Professionals Association, Pierre Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Brenda Forman, SD Dairy Producers, Brookings

Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Soybean Association, Sioux Falls

Paul Kostboth, A1 Development Solutions, Sioux Falls

Paul Tschetter, Self, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Kody Ray Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

Terry Sletten, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron Peter Fahlberg, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Steven Holmberg, Self, Centerville

Frank James, Self, Toronto Tony Ventura, Self, Hudson Paula Linke, Self, Woonsocket Kathy Tyler, Self, Big Stone City **MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1261

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Roby

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1261 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Andera Second by: Auch

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-9-1-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Mulally, and Auch

Voting No: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, and

Jamison

Excused: Wittman

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1261

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Roby

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, and

Jamison

Voting No: Andera, Mulally, and Auch

Excused: Wittman

HB 1264: require the disclosure of an outstanding loan balance on a campaign finance disclosure report.

Presented by: Representative Matt Roby

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1264

Moved by: Van Diepen Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van

Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison

Voting No: Mulally

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: DeGroot Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ GREG JAMISON Greg Jamison, Chair