Minutes: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 18, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Marty, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Voight, Sen. Jensen

(Kevin), and Sen. Pischke

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Pischke

TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 13<sup>TH</sup> **MOTION:** 

Moved by: Jensen (Kevin)

Second by: Davis

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

prohibit the award or use of state moneys for the research, HB 1118: production, promotion, sale, or distribution of cell-cultured protein.

Presented by: Senator Lauren Nelson Proponents: Representative Jana Hunt

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

**MOTION: DO PASS HB 1118** 

Moved by: Martv

Second by: Jensen (Kevin)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Duhamel, Marty, Rohl, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1118 AS **UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT** CALENDAR.

prohibit the manufacture, sale, or distribution of cell-cultured meat in HB 1109: this state, and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Representative John Sjaarda Proponents: Corey Halverson, Self, Whitewood

Justin Tupper, Self, St Onge

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Representative Jana Hunt

William Coggin, Berman and Company, Arlington

Opponents: Tava Runvan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre

Cheyenne Tant, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Tamar Lieberman, The Good Food Institute, Washington

**DEFER HB 1109 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY MOTION:** 

Moved by: Davis Second by: Duhamel

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Duhamel, and Rohl

Voting No: Marty, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1109

Moved by: Marty Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Marty, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

Voting No: Davis, Duhamel, and Rohl

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lexie Schumacher, Committee Secretary

/s/ TOM PISCHKE Tom Pischke, Chair