Minutes: Joint Committee on Appropriations Friday, February 21, 2025 10:30 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Miskimins, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Moore, Sen. Vilhauer, Sen. Carley,

Sen. Voita, Rep. Jorgenson, Sen. Howard, Sen. Foster, Rep. Sjaarda,

Rep. Muckey, Sen. Zikmund, Rep. Kolbeck (Jack), Rep. Novstrup, Sen. Lapka,

Rep. Derby, and Sen. Otten

Excused: Rep. May

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20TH

Moved by: Moore Second by: Muckey

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1092: make an appropriation for a student teacher stipend grant program.

Presented by: Representative Chris Kassin

Proponents: Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Opponents: Grant Judson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1092

Moved by: Muckey

Second by: Kolbeck (Jack)

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Jorgenson, Foster, Sjaarda, Muckey,

Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Carley, Voita, and Howard

Excused: May

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1026

Moved by: Jorgenson Second by: Miskimins

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (17-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard, Foster,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: May

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1035

Moved by: Muckey Second by: Kassin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (16-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1110

Moved by: Howard Second by: Carley

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Sjaarda, Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Muckey, Zikmund, and Kolbeck (Jack)

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1114 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Vilhauer Second by: Kassin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-4-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck

(Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, and Howard

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1131

Moved by: Kassin Second by: Zikmund

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (9-7-2-0)

Voting Yes: Kassin, Moore, Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Derby,

and Otten

Voting No: Miskimins, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard, and Lapka

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: AMEND HB 1131

1131A

On page 1, line 4, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$5,000,000" and insert "\$100"

Moved by: Derby Second by: Muckey

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1131 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Muckey Second by: Kassin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Jorgenson, Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund,

Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Carley, Voita, and Howard

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: DO PASS SB 44

Moved by: Muckey Second by: Jorgenson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (16-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: May and Foster

HB 1111: make an appropriation for grants to support the purchase of telehealth kiosks.

Presented by: Representative Josephine Garcia

Opponents: Yolanda Sung, Bureau of Finance and Management

Justin Bell, South Dakota State Medical Association, Sioux Falls

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1111

Moved by: Derby Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-1-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard, Sjaarda,

Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Carley

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: DO PASS SB 52

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Miskimins

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (16-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: DO PASS SB 99

Moved by: Kassin Second by: Muckey

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Voita, Jorgenson, Muckey, Zikmund,

Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Carley, Howard, and Sjaarda

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 104

Moved by: Derby Second by: Muckey

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-6-2-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Vilhauer, Jorgenson, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack),

Novstrup, Derby, and Otten

Voting No: Moore, Carley, Voita, Howard, Sjaarda, and Lapka

Excused: May and Foster

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Howard Second by: Moore

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Joslyn Jessop, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERNIE OTTEN /s/ MIKE DERBY
Ernie Otten, Co-Chair Mike Derby, Co-Chair