Minutes: Joint Committee on Appropriations Tuesday, February 25, 2025 9:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Miskimins, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Moore, Sen. Vilhauer, Sen. Carley,

Rep. May, Sen. Voita, Rep. Jorgenson, Sen. Howard, Sen. Foster, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. Muckey, Sen. Zikmund, Rep. Kolbeck (Jack),

Rep. Novstrup, Sen. Lapka, Rep. Derby, and Sen. Otten

The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten

SB 6: make an appropriation to support capital and infrastructure projects necessitated by the expansion of Ellsworth Air Force Base and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel (Handout(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

Senator Taffy Howard (Handout(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

Proponents: Scott Landguth, SD Ellsworth Development Authority, Box Elder (Handout(s)

6, 7)

Lt. General (retired) Jim Kowalski, Self, Former Ellsworth Airforce Base

Commander, Shreveport, LA

Trista Olney, Douglas School District, Box Elder (Handout(s) 8,9)

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City

Opponents: Steven Kohler, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND SB 6

6B

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$15,000,000" and insert "\$100"

Moved by: Derby Second by: Lapka

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 6 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Voita Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (17-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, May, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: Foster

SB 16: set aside certain contractor's excise tax collections relating to the Ellsworth Air Force Base, to create a fund for the collections, and to provide an appropriation therefor.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel (Handout(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) Senator Taffy Howard (Handout(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) Proponents: Scott Landguth, SD Ellsworth Development Authority, Box Elder (Handout(s)

6, 7)

Lt. General (retired) Jim Kowalski, Self, Former Ellsworth Airforce Base

Commander, Shreveport, LA

Trista Olney, Douglas School District, Box Elder (Handout(s) 8,9)

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City

Opponents: Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND SB 16

16D

On page 1, line 16, of the Introduced bill, after "appropriated" insert " up to one hundred dollars"

Moved by: Derby Second by: Lapka

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 16 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Voita Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Vilhauer, Carley, May, Voita, Howard, Sjaarda, Muckey,

Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, and Derby

Voting No: Moore, Jorgenson, Zikmund, and Otten

Excused: Foster

HB 1041: revise and repeal certain provisions pertaining to the state library and State Library Board.

Proponents: Joseph Graves, Secretary, Department of Education

Opponents: Abby Edwardson, South Dakota Library Association, Sioux Falls

Sarah Jones-Lutter, Self, Redfield Danielle Teigen, Self, Turton

Elizabeth Fox, South Dakota Library Association, Brookings

MOTION: AMEND HB 1041

1041A

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "Board" insert " and to provide an appropriation therefor"

On page 6, after line 2, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 18. There is appropriated \$100 from the general fund, to the Department of Education, for operations of the State Library.

On page 6, after line 2, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 19. The secretary of the Department of Education shall approve vouchers and the state auditor shall draw warrants to pay expenditures authorized by this Act."

On page 6, after line 2, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 20. Any amounts appropriated in this Act not lawfully expended or obligated shall revert in accordance with the procedures prescribed in chapter 4-8."

On page 6, after line 2, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 21. This Act is effective beginning June 30, 2025."

Moved by: Jorgenson Second by: Kolbeck (Jack)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1041

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Sjaarda Second by: Voita

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Drew Kaitfors, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERNIE OTTEN /s/ MIKE DERBY
Ernie Otten, Co-Chair Mike Derby, Co-Chair