Minutes: Senate Transportation Wednesday, February 19, 2025 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Larson, Sen. Sauder, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Wheeler, Sen. Beal, and

Sen. Deibert

Excused: Sen. Hohn

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 12TH

Moved by: Schoenfish Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 195: make an appropriation for grants to support public transit.

Presented by: Senator Randy Deibert

Proponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Transit Providers, Spearfish

Gayle Kludt, Self, Huron Barb Cline, Self, Spearfish

Megan Gould-Stabile, Self, Rapid City

Daniel P. Cross, Community Support Providers of South Dakota, Spearfish

Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls

Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Senator Glen Vilhauer

Opponents: Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND SB 195

195A

On page 1, line 3, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$1" and insert "\$825,000"

Moved by: Deibert Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER SB 195 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS

AMENDED WITH A DO PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Larson Second by: Sauder

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (5-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Larson, Sauder, Schoenfish, Wheeler, and Deibert

Voting No: Beal

Excused: Hohn

HB 1160: waive the driver license renewal period for members of the military and their families, and employees of the state department.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin

Jeannelle Yitagesu, Department of Public Safety

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1160

Moved by: Beal

Second by: Schoenfish

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Larson, Sauder, Schoenfish, Wheeler, Beal, and Deibert

Excused: Hohn

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1160 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Sauder Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lexie Schumacher, Committee Secretary

/s/ ARCH BEAL
Arch Beal, Vice-Chair