Minutes: House Local Government

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Andera, Rep. Bathke, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Kull, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Roby, Rep. Van Diepen, Rep. Wittman, Rep. Auch, and Rep. Jamison

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 11TH

Moved by:Van DiepenSecond by:FitzgeraldAction:Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1194 : authorize the cooperation of counties for purposes of operating an office of county director of equalization.

Presented by: Representative Drew Peterson

Proponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Cori Kaufmann, Self, Madison

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1194

Moved by:	Van Diepen
Second by:	Kull

- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison
- Voting No: Andera and Mulally

HB 1218 : prohibit certain political subdivisions from imposing firearm restrictions on county, municipal, and township employees, officers, and volunteers.

Presented by: Representative Aaron Aylward

Proponents: Shaun Boer, Self, Hartford

Brian Gosch, National Rifle Association of America, Fairfax, VA

Opponents: Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Jenna Severyn, SD Police Chiefs Association, Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1218

1218A

On page 1, line 9, of the Introduced bill, after "county." insert " This section does not apply to possession of a concealed firearm and compatible ammunition by an individual: (1) Who is an inmate;

(2) Who is present in a portion of a building being used to provide court or jail services; or(3) Other than a law enforcement officer, while using a county vehicle to transport another individual apprehended in accordance with chapter 27A-10. "

On page 1, line 18, of the Introduced bill, after "township." insert " This section does not apply to possession of a concealed firearm and compatible ammunition by an individual: (1) Who is an inmate;

(2) Who is present in a portion of a building being used to provide court or jail services; or
(3) Other than a law enforcement officer, while using a township vehicle to transport another individual apprehended in accordance with chapter 27A-10."

On page 2, line 3, of the Introduced bill, after "municipality." insert " This section does not apply to possession of a concealed firearm and compatible ammunition by an individual: (1) Who is an inmate;

(2) Who is present in a portion of a building being used to provide court or jail services; or(3) Other than a law enforcement officer, while using a municipal vehicle to transport another individual apprehended in accordance with chapter 27A-10."

Moved by:AuchSecond by:WittmanAction:Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: AMEND THE PENDING AMENDMENT

1218D

On the previously adopted amendment (1218A), On page 1, line 12, after "in" delete " a portion of"

On the previously adopted amendment (1218A), On page 2, line 2, after "in" delete " a portion of"

On the previously adopted amendment (1218A), On page 2, line 17, after "in" delete " a portion of"

Moved by:	Auch
Second by:	Mulally
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DEFER HB 1218 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Van Diepen Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1218 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Auch
Second by:	Mulally
Action:	Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)
Voting Yes:	Andera, Fitzgerald, Ladner, Mulally, Roby, and Auch

Voting No: Bathke, DeGroot, Heermann, Kull, Van Diepen, Wittman, and Jamison

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER HB 1218 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Wittman
Second by:	Van Diepen
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, and Jamison
- Voting No: Andera, Mulally, and Auch

HB 1219 : require counties and municipalities to provide emergency medical services within their jurisdictions.

Presented by: Representative Bobbi Andera

 Proponents: Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association, Webster
 Steve Willard, South Dakota Joint Fire Council, Rapid City
 Representative Eric E. Emery
 Shawn Fischer, Self, Sturgis
 Robert Rendon, Self, Rapid City
 Matt Thompson, Self, Keystone
 Nicole J. Neugebauer, SDEMSA, Webster
 Opponents: Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1219 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	DeGroot
Second by:	Bathke
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison
- Voting No: Andera and Mulally

Excused: Fitzgerald

MOTION: RECONSIDER HB 1043

- Moved by: Roby Second by: Wittman Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison
- Excused: Fitzgerald

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:HeermannSecond by:WittmanAction:Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ GREG JAMISON Greg Jamison, Chair