Minutes: House Taxation Tuesday, February 18, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bathke, Rep. Massie, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Randolph,

Rep. Reder, Rep. Roe, Rep. Walburg, Rep. Weems, Rep. Weisgram,

Rep. Pourier, Rep. Hughes, and Rep. Aylward

The meeting was called to order by Representative Aylward

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 11TH

Moved by: Randolph Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1203: authorize the operation of pari-mutuel historical horse racing machines, and to authorize a new tax.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1203

HB 1246 : require the director of equalization to adjust certain agricultural land values.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1246

HB 1245: exclude guaranteed payments made to partners from the definition of gross receipts.

Presented by: Representative Curt Massie

Proponents: Craig Matson, South Dakota CPA Society, Sioux Falls

Paul Thorstenson, Self, Rapid City

Opponents: Doug Schinkel, Department of Revenue

MOTION: AMEND HB 1245

1245A

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "receipts" insert ", and to exempt guaranteed payments made to partners from the state use tax"

On page 1, after line 9, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 2. That a NEW SECTION be added to chapter 10-46:

Exempt from the provisions of this chapter, and the tax imposed by it, are the gross receipts from any guaranteed payment, as described in 26 U.S.C. § 707(c) (1986), to a partner who is a:

- (1) Natural person;
- (2) Corporation whose only employees are owners of the corporation; or
- (3) Limited liability company that has no employees and is owned by a natural person."

Moved by: Weisgram Second by: Pourier

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1245 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Weems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, Massie, Mortenson, Duffy, Roe, Walburg, Weems, Weisgram, and

Pourier

Voting No: Randolph, Reder, Hughes, and Aylward

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1245 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Hughes Second by: Randolph

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-9-0-0)

Voting Yes: Randolph, Reder, Hughes, and Aylward

Voting No: Bathke, Massie, Mortenson, Duffy, Roe, Walburg, Weems, Weisgram, and

Pourier

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Roe Second by: Weems

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ AARON AYLWARD Aaron Aylward, Chair