Minutes: House Agriculture and Natural Resources

Tuesday, February 11, 2025 3:00 PM

# Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Nolz, Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Rice, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Van Diepen, Rep. Wittman, and Rep. Overweg Excused: Rep. Gosch

# The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

### TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 11<sup>TH</sup> MOTION:

Moved by:	Wittman
Second by:	Ladner
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

### HB 1156 : provide for the administrative approval of certain drainage applications by counties.

Presented by: Representative Jeff Bathke

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux Opponents: City

Dustin Leiseth, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron Others:

Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings

#### MOTION: **DO PASS HB 1156**

Moved by:	Wittman
Action:	Died for lack of a second

### SUBSTITUTE MOTION: **DEFER HB 1156 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE** MOTION: DAY

Moved by: Auch

Second by: Hunt

- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)
- Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasqaard, Voting Yes: and Overweg
- Voting No: Van Diepen and Wittman
- Excused: Gosch

### HB 1157 : remove the maximum fee limit due when applying for a county drainage permit.

Presented by: Representative Jeff Bathke

Proponents: Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings (Handout(s) 1 HB 1157)

# MOTION: AMEND HB 1157

### 1157A

On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from ", may not exceed one" On page 1, line 11, of the Introduced bill, delete " one" and insert " five"

On page 1, line 12, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from "hundred dollars"

Moved by:WittmanSecond by:GoodwinAction:Prevailed by voice vote

## MOTION: DO PASS HB 1157 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Peterson (Drew)
	A

Second by: Auch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard, Van Diepen, Wittman, and Overweg

Excused: Gosch

### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Nolz
Second by:	Goodwin
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair