Minutes: House Local Government Tuesday, February 11, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Andera, Rep. Bathke, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Heermann,

Rep. Kull, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Roby, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Auch, and Rep. Jamison

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 06TH

Moved by: Van Diepen Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1159: revise percentages regarding certain municipal proceeds of gaming

revenues.

Presented by: Representative Scott Odenbach (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Kevin Kuchenbecker, City of Deadwood, Deadwood (Handout(s) 2,3)

Tonchi Weaver, Self, Rapid City

Opponents: Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: REFER HB 1159 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH A

DO PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Andera

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Roby, Wittman, Auch, and

Jamison

Voting No: Bathke, Heermann, and Van Diepen

HB 1217: require customer consent for installation of a smart meter for a utility

service.

Presented by: Representative Aaron Aylward

Proponents: Tonchi Weaver, SD Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City Opponents: Pamela A. Bonrud, NorthWestern Energy, Sioux Falls

Darla Pollman Rogers, South Dakota Rural Electric Association, Pierre

Ted Smith, Sioux Valley Energy, Colman

Kevin Kouba, Otter Tail Power Company, Milbank

Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

Samuel J. Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Samuel J. Nelson, Economic Development Professionals Assocation, Mitchell

Drew Duncan, Heartland Consumers Power District, Madison

Robert Peterson, South Dakota Municipal Electric Association, Fort Pierre Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Russel Halgerson, Self, Brookings

MOTION: DEFER HB 1217 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Bathke Second by: Roby

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen,

Wittman, Auch, and Jamison

Voting No: Andera and Mulally

HB 1173: eliminate the cap on assessment amounts for road improvements.

Presented by: Representative David Kull
Proponents: Kevin Callies, Self, Sioux Falls

Richard Steffen, Self, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1173

Moved by: Roby Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van

Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison

Excused: Mulally

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Van Diepen

Second by: Auch

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ GREG JAMISON
Greg Jamison, Chair