Minutes: Joint Committee on Appropriations Friday, February 07, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Miskimins, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Moore, Sen. Vilhauer, Sen. Carley,

Rep. May, Sen. Voita, Rep. Jorgenson, Sen. Howard, Sen. Foster, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. Muckey, Sen. Zikmund, Rep. Kolbeck (Jack),

Rep. Novstrup, Sen. Lapka, Rep. Derby, and Sen. Otten

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 04<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Kolbeck (Jack)

Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 05<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Sjaarda

Second by: Kolbeck (Jack)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1098: make an appropriation to the Department of Human Services for reimbursing the cost of respite care services for caregivers of individuals with dementia and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Mike Weisgram

**MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1098** 

Moved by: Kolbeck (Jack)

Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (17-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, May, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard, Foster,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: Carley

## SB 33 : make appropriations for water and environmental purposes and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Tina McFarling, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources (Handout(s)

1)

Proponents: Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

Julie M. Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen (Handout(s) 2)

Gregory Powell, Randall Community Water District, Lake Andes

Jessica Carr, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Michael Lee Bockorny, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City

Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings

Ryan Johnson, Dakota Mainstem Regional Water System, Madison

Others: Andy Bruels, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DO PASS SB 33

Moved by: Derby Second by: Muckey

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (17-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, May, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard, Foster,

Sjaarda, Muckey, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Novstrup, Lapka, Derby, and

Otten

Excused: Carley

**South Dakota Public Broadcasting Budget Hearing** 

Ryan Howlett, Friends of SDPB, Sioux Falls Laura E Peterson, Friends of SDPB, Sioux Falls

Proponents: Gene Ellenson, Friends of SDPB, Sioux Falls

Daniel Swartos, South Dakota High School Activities Association, Pierre

Kay Jorgensen, ET Board Chair Larry Rohrer, SDPB, Pierre

Kayla Klein, SD Association for Education of Young Children, Box Elder

Kara Flynn, Self, Rapid City

Eric S. Erickson, Friends of SDPB, Sioux Falls

Vernon Brown, Self, Sioux Falls

**Department of Social Services Budget Hearing** 

Matt Althoff, Secretary, Department of Social Services

Jason Simmons, Department of Social Services

Others: Terrance Lee Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health

Inc., Pierre

**Department of Human Services Budget Hearing** 

Shawnie Rechtenbaugh, Secretary, Department of Human Services

Others: Mark B Deak, South Dakota Health Care Association, Sioux Falls

Daniel P. Cross, Community Support Providers of South Dakota, Spearfish

Steve K. Watkins, LifeScape, Sioux Falls

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Novstrup Second by: Jorgenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Bill Douglas, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERNIE OTTEN /s/ MIKE DERBY
Ernie Otten, Co-Chair Mike Derby, Co-Chair