Minutes: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, February 06, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Nolz,

Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Rice, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Gosch, and Rep. Overweg

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 04TH

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1116: repeal a reporting requirement and adopt provisions regarding the use of industrial hemp.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1116

HB 1120: transfer certain moneys and to make an appropriation for the operations of the state library.

Presented by: Representative Travis Ismay

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1120

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

HB 1176: provide that equine dental maintenance not constitute the practice of veterinary medicine.

Presented by: Representative Jana Hunt

Proponents: Wayne Needham, Self, IAED, Texas

Bob Griswold, Self, DVM, Oklahoma

Lyle McKernon, Self, Rapid City, South Dakota

Zach Rhodes, Self, Reno, Nevada

Opponents: Jennifer Stalley, South Dakota Veterinary Medical Association, Brookings

Michelle Jensen, Self, DVM, Harrisburg, South Dakota Heather Lerseth-Fliens, Self, DVM, Groton, South Dakota Mark Braunschmidt, Self, DVM, Garretson, South Dakota

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1176

Moved by: Auch Second by: Nolz

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1176 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Van Diepen

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ismay, Ladner, Peterson (Drew), Vasgaard, Van Diepen, and Wittman

Voting No: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Nolz, Rice, Gosch, and Overweg

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1176

Moved by: Auch Second by: Nolz

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Nolz, Rice, Gosch, and Overweg

Voting No: Ismay, Ladner, Peterson (Drew), Vasgaard, Van Diepen, and Wittman

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair