Minutes: House Education

Roll Call Present:

Rep. Arlint, Rep. Baxter, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Garcia, Rep. Halverson, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Jordan, Rep. Manhart, Rep. Rice, Rep. Schwans, Rep. Stevens, Rep. Uhre-Balk, Rep. Jensen (Phil), and Rep. Greenfield

The meeting was called to order by Representative Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 03RD

Moved by:	Arlint
Second by:	Garcia
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1041 : revise and repeal certain provisions pertaining to the state library and State Library Board.

Presented by: Joseph Graves, Department of Education

Opponents: Sarah Jones-Lutter, Self, Redfield Abby Edwardson, South Dakota Library Association, Sioux Falls Natasha Noethlich, Self, Doland Doris Ann Mertz, Self, Custer Elizabeth Fox, South Dakota Library Association, Brookings Representative Tim Walburg Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Angela Bailey, Self, Huron Kevin Maxwell, Self, Harrisburg Janet Rose-Perrenoud, Self, Custer

MOTION: REFER HB 1041 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH A DO NOT PASS RECOMMENDATION

- Moved by: Heermann
- Second by: Arlint
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Arlint, DeGroot, Garcia, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice, Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, and Greenfield
- Excused: Baxter and Jensen (Phil)

HB 1092 : make an appropriation for a student teacher stipend grant program.

Presented by: Representative Chris Kassin

- Proponents: Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Dave Sanderson, Self, Vermillion
- Opponents: Grant Judson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND HB 1092

1092A

On page 1, line 4, of the Introduced bill, after "districts" insert " and to departmentaccredited schools"

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "districts" insert " and to departmentaccredited schools"

On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "districts" insert " and from departmentaccredited schools"

On page 1, line 9, of the Introduced bill, after "district" insert " or department-accredited school"

On page 1, line 10, of the Introduced bill, after "district" insert " or department-accredited school"

Moved by: Arlint Second by: Heermann Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER HB 1092 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS AMENDED WITH A DO PASS AS AMENDED RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: DeGroot

Second by: Uhre-Balk

Action: Withdrawn

MOTION: AMEND HB 1092

1092C

On the previously adopted amendment (1092A), On page 1, line 6, after "shall" delete " annually"

On the previously adopted amendment (1092A), On page 1, line 20, after "obligated" delete " by June 30, 2027,"

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Rice Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER HB 1092 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS AMENDED WITH A DO PASS AS AMENDED RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Stevens

- Second by: DeGroot
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-2-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Arlint, Baxter, DeGroot, Garcia, Halverson, Heermann, Jordan, Rice, Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, and Greenfield
- Voting No: Ismay and Manhart
- Excused: Jensen (Phil)

HB 1093 : require the board of a school district to hold a bond election at the primary or general election.

Presented by: Representative Aaron Aylward

 Proponents: T.J. Nelson, FGA Action, Tallahassee, FL Don Haggar, Americans For Prosperity, Ballston, VA
Opponents: Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Jennifer Lowery, Self, Tea Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1093 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Stevens
Second by:	Heermann
Action:	Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1093

Moved	hv	Jordan
moveu	Dy.	Juluali

- Second by: Ismay
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-7-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Baxter, Garcia, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice, Schwans, and Jensen (Phil)
- Voting No: Arlint, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, and Greenfield

HB 1035 : make an appropriation for school security enhancement grants.

Presented by: Scott Rechtenbaugh, Department of Public Safety
Proponents: Joseph Graves, Department of Education
Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, Fort Pierre
Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre
Opponents: Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Vermillion

MOTION: REFER HB 1035 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH A DO NOT PASS RECOMMENDATION

- Moved by: Stevens
- Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-4-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Arlint, DeGroot, Garcia, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Rice, Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, and Greenfield
- Voting No: Baxter, Jordan, Manhart, and Jensen (Phil)

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:ManhartSecond by:ArlintAction:Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA J. GREENFIELD Lana J. Greenfield, Chair