Minutes: House State Affairs Wednesday, February 05, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy, Rep. Heinemann,

Rep. Jamison, Rep. Lems, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Schaefbauer, Rep. Soye,

Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Odenbach

Excused: Rep. Emery

The meeting was called to order by Representative Odenbach

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 03<sup>RD</sup>

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE

**GOVERNOR ENTITLED:** 

An Act to reduce the growth in the assessed value of owner-occupied property tax

assessments

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch,

Schaefbauer, Sove, Overweg, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery

SB 20: require a voter use a pen when marking a ballot.

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 20 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Bahmuller

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Schaefbauer, Soye,

Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Healy and Heinemann

Excused: Emery

**HB 1103**: modify the voter registration deadline.

Presented by: Representative Heather Baxter (Handout(s) #1)

Proponents: Rick Weible, Self, Elkton

Leah Anderson, Minnehaha County Auditor, Sioux Falls

Linda Montgomery, Self, Fairview SD

Opponents: Kathy Glines, self, Buffalo

Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls Melissa McCauley, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Samantha Chapman, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation Inc., NY Natalie Stites Means, He Sapa Voters and COUP Council, Rapid City

Lindley Howard, McPherson County Auditor, Leola

MOTION: DEFER HB 1103 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Healy Second by: Bahmuller

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Reisch, Overweg, and

Odenbach

Voting No: Gosch, Lems, Schaefbauer, and Soye

Excused: Emery

**HB 1104**: amend the requirements for a paper ballot.

Presented by: Representative Heather Baxter

Proponents: Rick Weible, Self, Elkton

Jessica Pollema, Self, Minnehaha County

Leah Anderson, Minnehaha County Auditor, Sioux Falls

Linda Montgomery, Self, Fairview SD

Opponents: Rachel Soulek, Secretary of State (Handout(s) #2)

Lindley Howard, McPherson County Auditor, Leola

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1104

Moved by: Schaefbauer

Second by: Lems

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-8-1-0)

Voting Yes: Heinemann, Lems, Schaefbauer, and Soye

Voting No: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Jamison, Reisch, Overweg, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1104 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Overweg, and

Odenbach

Voting No: Gosch, Schaefbauer, and Soye

Excused: Emery

HB 1106: require a report regarding refugee resettlement services.

Presented by: Representative Julie K. Auch

Proponents: Senator Taffy Howard

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1106

Moved by: Soye Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Schaefbauer, Soye,

Overweg, and Odenbach

Voting No: Healy and Reisch

Excused: Emery

SB 11: limit the amount of money that a political committee may accept from an inactive candidate campaign committee.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl Opponents: Lee Qualm, Self, Platte

Heidi Engelhart, self, Aberdeen

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 11 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Hansen

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: AMEND SB 11

DOCUMENT NOT FOUND: "
Moved by: Reisch

Second by: Reisch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Healy, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Soye, and Odenbach

Voting No: Hansen, Heinemann, Schaefbauer, and Overweg

Excused: Emery

MOTION: DO PASS SB 11 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Jamison Second by: Reisch

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (5-7-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Healy, Jamison, and Reisch

Voting No: Hansen, Heinemann, Lems, Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

Excused: Emery

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 11 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Heinemann Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Gosch, Hansen, Heinemann, Lems, Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg,

and Odenbach

Voting No: Healy, Jamison, and Reisch

Excused: Emery

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ SCOTT ODENBACH
Scott Odenbach, Chair