Minutes: Senate Transportation Friday, February 07, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Hohn, Sen. Larson, Sen. Sauder, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Wheeler,

Sen. Beal, and Sen. Deibert

The meeting was called to order by Senator Deibert

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 05TH

Moved by: Beal Second by: Hohn

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 45: impose a motor vehicle technology fee to support and enhance technology used to administer motor vehicle services, and to make an appropriation therefor.

Presented by: Rosa Yaeger, Department of Revenue

Proponents: Christine Vinatieri-Erickson, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, Sioux

Falls

Bob Deelstra, self, Hartford

MOTION: REFER SB 45 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH A DO

PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Hohn, Larson, Sauder, Schoenfish, Wheeler, Beal, and Deibert

SB 132: make an appropriation for grants to support airport terminal improvement and expansion.

Presented by: Senator Steve Kolbeck Proponents: Representative Steve Duffy

Samuel J. Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Samuel J. Nelson, Economic Development Professionals Assocation, Mitchell

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Senator Helene Duhamel

Katie Sieverding, Sioux Falls Airport Authority, Sioux Falls

Dan Letellier, Self, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) 1)

Opponents: Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: REFER SB 132 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH A

DO PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Larson Second by: Schoenfish

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Hohn, Larson, Sauder, Schoenfish, Wheeler, Beal, and Deibert

SB 131: establish an electronic system for vehicle titles.

Presented by: Senator Steve Kolbeck

Proponents: Justin G. Smith, Vitu, Sioux Falls

Trace Beck, Self, Pierre

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Doug Abraham, American Property Casualty Insurance Association, Chicago,

ΤI

Bob Deelstra, self, Hartford

Robert Holm, South Dakota Independent Auto Dealers Association -

Brookings, Brookings

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Jasper Diegel, SD Manufactured Housing Association, Pierre

Rosa Yaeger, Department of Revenue

Christine Vinatieri-Erickson, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, Sioux

Falls

Deb Tridle, Self, Lead

MOTION: AMEND SB 131

131B

On page 9, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete " the next" and insert " on the third" On page 9, after line 29, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 14. That a NEW SECTION be added to chapter 32-3:

If a title is held electronically, no paper title will be printed, except in the following circumstances:

- (1) The owner is relocating to another state, and there is no electronic system in place to transfer the title electronically between the states;
- (2) The owner has sold the titled property to a new owner in another state, and there is no electronic system in place to transfer the title electronically between the states; or
- (3) The owner requests a paper title to be printed and pays the applicable fee under this chapter.

The owner is required to submit an application to the department to have the paper title printed pursuant to this section. The application must be in a form prescribed by the department. If the title is subject to a lien, the requirements of § 32-3-70 must be met."

Moved by: Larson Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 131 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Beal Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Hohn, Larson, Sauder, Schoenfish, Wheeler, Beal, and Deibert

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 131 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lexie Schumacher, Committee Secretary

/s/ RANDY DEIBERT Randy Deibert, Chair