Minutes: Senate Commerce and Energy

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Beal, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Hohn, Sen. Karr, Sen. Kolbeck, Sen. Larson, Sen. Perry, Sen. Peterson (Sue), and Sen. Crabtree

The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 30TH

Moved by:BealSecond by:PerryAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 26 : reduce employer contribution rates and increase the administrative fee rate for reemployment assistance.

Presented by: Marcia Hultman, Secretary, Department of Labor and Regulation Proponents: David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Julie M. Johnson, SoDak SHRM, Sioux Falls Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 26

Moved by:	Kolbeck
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Hohn, Karr, Kolbeck, Larson, Perry, Peterson (Sue), and Crabtree

SB 28 : revise provisions relating to licensing fees and license renewal dates for the practice of barbering and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Jodi Aumer, Board of Barbers, Aberdeen

Proponents: Donnie Joseph V, SD Barber College, Rapid City Justin Loesch, self, Mobridge Representative Tesa Schwans

MOTION: REFER SB 28 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS WITH A DO PASS RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Karr

- Second by: Beal
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Hohn, Karr, Kolbeck, Larson, Perry, Peterson (Sue), and Crabtree

SB 50 : prohibit the use of drones for purposes of assessing real property for taxation, and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Senator John Carley

Proponents: R. Shawn Tornow, Protect SESD Property Rights, Lesterville Jason Alan Glodt, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre Matt Smith, self, Hermosa

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 50 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Deibert
- Second by: Larson

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Deibert, Larson, and Crabtree
- Voting No: Beal, Hohn, Kolbeck, and Peterson (Sue)
- Excused: Karr and Perry

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS SB 50

- Moved by: Peterson (Sue)
- Second by: Hohn Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Beal, Hohn, Kolbeck, Peterson (Sue), and Crabtree
- Voting No: Deibert and Larson
- Excused: Karr and Perry

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Hohn
Second by:	Kolbeck
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Anne Reisch, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE Casey Crabtree, Chair