Minutes: House State Affairs

# Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Emery, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy, Rep. Heinemann, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Lems, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Schaefbauer, Rep. Soye, Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Odenbach

### The meeting was called to order by Representative Odenbach

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 29<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:HealySecond by:HansenAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SJR 502 : Applying to the United States Congress for a convention of the states to propose amendments to the United States Constitution regarding the imposition of fiscal restraints on the federal government, further limiting the power and jurisdiction of the federal government, and limiting the terms of office for members of Congress and other federal officials.

Presented by: Representative Les Heinemann

Proponents: Rick Santorum, Self, Great Falls, VA Manny Steele, Self, Sioux Falls Jeff Church, Self, Vermillion Senator Jim Mehlhaff Shirlee J. Meier, Self, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) #1) Scott Lewis, Self, Rapid City Mike Weiler, Self, Rapid City David De Jabet, Self, Pierre Chris Becket, self, Edgewater, FL Representative Tim Goodwin Trace Switzenberg, Self, Sioux Falls Michael Fame, self, New York City, NY Opponents: Michael Boyle, Self, Parkston Linda Schauer, Concerned Women for America Legislative Action Committee, Leola (Handout(s) #2) Heidi Engelhart, self, Aberdeen (Handout(s) #3) Leah Southwell, self, Coeur d'Alene, ID

### MOTION: DO PASS SJR 502

Moved by: Jamison

Second by: Heinemann

Action: Was not acted on.

# MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SJR 502 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Schaefbauer
- Second by: Gosch

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Emery, Gosch, Healy, Lems, Reisch, and Schaefbauer

Voting No: Bahmuller, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

# **Revert to previous motion**

# MOTION: DO PASS SJR 502

Moved by:	Jamison
Second by:	Heinemann
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-5-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Hansen, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach
- Voting No: Emery, Gosch, Healy, Reisch, and Schaefbauer

# SB 12 : limit the amount of money that may be loaned to a candidate or political committee.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl Opponents: Brian Michael Lewis, Dakota First Action, Aberdeen

# MOTION: AMEND SB 12

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, after "loaned" insert " or transfered" On page 1, after line 11, of the Introduced bill, insert: " Section 2. That a NEW SECTION be added to chapter 12-27:

A candidate with a federally authorized committee, as defined in 52 U.S.C. § 30101, et seq., (January 1, 2025), may not transfer more than ten thousand dollars per year, to any political committee organized pursuant to this chapter."

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Healy
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

## MOTION: DO PASS SB 12 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Overweg
Second by:	Lems
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)
	Debaullar Francis Cooch Hannan Hacks Hains

- Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach
- Voting No: Schaefbauer

# SB 17 : clarify when a political committee must file certain campaign finance disclosure statements.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

### MOTION: DO PASS SB 17

Moved by:	Healy
Second by:	Reisch
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, Schaefbauer, Soye, Overweg, and Odenbach

#### SB 20 : require a voter use a pen when marking a ballot.

Presented by: Tom Deadrick, Secretary of State

Proponents: Rick Weible, Self, Elkton (Handout(s) #4) Thomas Oliva, Hughes County, Pierre

### **MOTION:** DEFER SB 20 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Overweg
-----------	---------

Second by: Schaefbauer Action: Was not acted on.

#### 

- Moved by: Soye
- Second by: Healy
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch, and Soye
- Voting No: Bahmuller, Emery, Gosch, Schaefbauer, Overweg, and Odenbach

#### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Hansen
Second by:	Overweg
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ SCOTT ODENBACH Scott Odenbach, Chair