Minutes: House Commerce and Energy Monday, February 03, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Aylward, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Greenfield, Rep. Kayser, Rep. Mulally,

Rep. Nolz, Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Schwans, Rep. Shorma, Rep. Uhre-

Balk, Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Bahmuller, and Rep. Lems

The meeting was called to order by Representative Lems

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 29TH

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1070: prohibit cost-sharing in certain health insurance policies for diagnostic and supplemental breast imaging examinations.

Presented by: Representative Brandei Schaefbauer

Proponents: Jennifer Stalley, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, Sioux Falls

Jennifer Stalley, South Dakota Nurses Association, Sioux Falls

Doris Cardwell, self, Spearfish

Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls

Deb Fischer Clemens, Presentation Sisters of Aberdeen, Aberdeen
Opponents: Melissa Klemann, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Des Moines, IA

Darla Pollman Rogers, NAIFA, Rapid City

Blake Severyn, Independent Insurance Agents of South Dakota, Fort Pierre

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1070

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Uhre-Balk

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-11-0-0)

Voting Yes: Shorma and Uhre-Balk

Voting No: Aylward, Duffy, Greenfield, Kayser, Mulally, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Schwans,

Weisgram, Bahmuller, and Lems

MOTION: DEFER HB 1070 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Duffy Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Duffy, Greenfield, Kayser, Mulally, Nolz, Schwans, Weisgram,

Bahmuller, and Lems

Voting No: Shorma and Uhre-Balk

Excused: Peterson (Drew)

HB 1107: prohibit natural asset companies.

Presented by: Representative Julie K. Auch

Proponents: Florence K. Thompson, SD Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

Breeauna Sagdal, self, Madison

Opponents: Joel Jundt, Secretary, Department of Transportation

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Lyle Perman, South Dakota Agricultural Land Trust, Pierre

Lyle Perman, self, Lowry

Mike Bockorny, Economic Development Professionals Association, Aberdeen

Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Deb Mortenson, The Nature Conservancy, Minneapolis, MN

Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre

William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Justin G. Smith, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City

Benjamin Fischbach, Friends of the Big Sioux River, Sioux Falls

MOTION: AMEND HB 1107

1107C

On page 1, line 13, of the Introduced bill, delete " or" and insert " and"

On page 1, line 19, of the Introduced bill, after "state" insert ", except the South Dakota Retirement System and the State Investment Council"

On page 1, line 23, of the Introduced bill, after "resources" delete ", including land or resources owned by the state retirement system,"

On page 3, after line 22, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 8. That a NEW SECTION be added to a NEW CHAPTER in title 5:

The provisions of this Act do not apply to the South Dakota Retirement System, the State Investment Council, or any assets managed by the State Investment Council."

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Kayser

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1107 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Mulally Second by: Aylward

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-5-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Kayser, Mulally, Nolz, Schwans, Bahmuller, and Lems

Voting No: Duffy, Peterson (Drew), Shorma, Uhre-Balk, and Weisgram

Excused: Greenfield

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Nolz Second by: Kayser

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ KARLA J. LEMS Karla J. Lems, Chair