Minutes: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, January 30, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Nolz,

Rep. Peterson (Drew), Rep. Rice, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Van Diepen,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Gosch, and Rep. Overweg

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 28TH

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1021: modify the annual fee for concentrated animal feeding operations and to establish an application fee.

Presented by: Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Proponents: Rob Skjonsberg, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Brenda Forman, SD Dairy Producers, Brookings

Others: Troy Roth, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

MOTION: DEFER HB 1021 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Auch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Rice, Gosch, and Overweg

Voting No: Peterson (Drew), Vasgaard, Van Diepen, and Wittman

SB 41: clarify the minimum age requirements for a hunting license.

Presented by: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

Proponents: Jason Alan Glodt, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre

George Morey Vandel III, South Dakota Waterfowl Association, Webster

George Morey Vandel III, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 41

Moved by: Auch Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Goodwin, Hunt, Ismay, Ladner, Nolz, Peterson (Drew), Rice, Vasgaard,

Van Diepen, Wittman, Gosch, and Overweg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 41 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION:	ADJOURN	
Moved by: Second by: Action:	Nolz Goodwin Prevailed by voice vote	
Mary Kirk, Co	mmittee Secretary	
		 /s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair