Minutes: House Local Government

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Andera, Rep. Bathke, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Kull, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Roby, Rep. Van Diepen, Rep. Wittman, Rep. Auch, and Rep. Jamison

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 28TH

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Andera Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1087 : authorize the recall of county commissioners.

	: Representative Travis Ismay Rick Weible, Self, Elkton (Handout(s) 1) Chet Ellsworth, self, Rapid City Linda Montgomery, Self, Fairview SD Florence K. Thompson, SD Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City
Opponents:	Cindy Meyer, Self, Hartford Kim Allen, Self, Oral Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Eric Jennings, Self, Spearfish
Others:	Melissa McCauley, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings Dan Kilmisch, Self, Yankton County Commission Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1087 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Wittman
Second by:	Roby
Action:	Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1087

- Moved by:AuchSecond by:MulallyAction:Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-10-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Andera, Mulally, and Auch
- Voting No: Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, and Jamison

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER HB 1087 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Wittman

Second by:	Roby
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, and Jamison
- Voting No: Mulally and Auch

SB 74 : require the publication and review of an explanation of the open meeting laws of this state.

Presented by: Senator Tim Reed

Proponents: David Bordewyk, South Dakota NewsMedia Association, Brookings (Handout(s) 2) Senator Randy Deibert Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings Grant Flynn, Attorney General

MOTION: DO PASS SB 74

Moved by:	Kull
Second by:	DeGroot
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison

SB 7 : prohibit the adoption or implementation of certain policies related to immigration enforcement.

Presented by: Representative Mary J. Fitzgerald

Proponents: Senator Casey Crabtree T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, NE Katie Hruska, Governor's Office

MOTION: DO PASS SB 7

Moved by: Van Diepen

- Second by: Ladner
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Roby, Van Diepen, Auch, and Jamison
- Voting No: Wittman

SB 13 : clarify the enactment and effective date of a measure initiated or referred within a political subdivision.

Presented by: Senator Randy Deibert

Proponents: Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 13

Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Andera, Bathke, DeGroot, Fitzgerald, Heermann, Kull, Ladner, Mulally, Roby, Van Diepen, Wittman, Auch, and Jamison

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 13 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Van Diepen

Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ GREG JAMISON Greg Jamison, Chair