Minutes: House Transportation

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Garcia, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Jensen (Phil), Rep. Mulder, Rep. Reder, Rep. Rehfeldt, Rep. Roe, Rep. Shorma, Rep. Weems, Rep. Vasgaard, and Rep. Randolph

The meeting was called to order by Representative Randolph

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 28TH

Moved by:Jensen (Phil)Second by:WeemsAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 1 : update references to certain federal motor carrier regulations.

Presented by: Captain Jon Stahl, Department of Public Safety Proponents: Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum and Propane Marketers Association, Pierre Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 1

Moved by:	Mulder
Second by:	Weems
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Duffy, Garcia, Goodwin, Jensen (Phil), Mulder, Reder, Rehfeldt, Roe, Shorma, Weems, Vasgaard, and Randolph

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 1 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 2 : increase civil penalties for commercial driver violations.

Presented by: Jeannelle Yitagesu, Department of Public Safety

MOTION: DO PASS SB 2

Moved by: Second by: Action:	Shorma Weems Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)
Voting Yes:	Arlint, Duffy, Garcia, Mulder, Reder, Rehfeldt, Roe, Shorma, Weems, and Vasgaard
Vation No.	Cardwin Janson (Dhil) and Dandalah

Voting No: Goodwin, Jensen (Phil), and Randolph

SB 39 : revise the description of highways included in the state trunk highway system.

Presented by: Mike Behm, Department of Transportation

MOTION: DO PASS SB 39

Moved by:	Vasgaard
Second by:	Weems
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Garcia, Goodwin, Jensen (Phil), Mulder, Reder, Rehfeldt, Roe, Shorma, Weems, Vasgaard, and Randolph

Excused: Duffy

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 39 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 40 : revise Department of Transportation regulatory authority regarding aeronautics.

Presented by: Shane Pullman, Department of Transportation

MOTION: DO PASS SB 40

- Moved by: Mulder
- Second by: Weems
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Arlint, Garcia, Goodwin, Jensen (Phil), Mulder, Reder, Rehfeldt, Roe, Shorma, Weems, and Vasgaard
- Voting No: Randolph

Excused: Duffy

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:Jensen (Phil)Second by:WeemsAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Kaitlyn Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ TONY RANDOLPH Tony Randolph, Chair