Minutes: House State Affairs Wednesday, January 29, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Emery, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy,

Rep. Heinemann, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Lems, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Schaefbauer,

Rep. Soye, and Rep. Overweg

Excused: Rep. Odenbach

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, JANUARY 27TH

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HJR 5002: Applying to the United States Congress under Article V of the United States Constitution to call for a convention for proposing an amendment to the constitution establishing congressional term limits.

Presented by: Representative Taylor Rehfeldt

Proponents: Les Chamblee, U.S. Term Limits, Melbourne, FL (Handout(s) #1,2)

John James, Self, Rapid City

Harvey Fitzgerald, self, Buffalo Gap

Opponents: Linda Shauer, Concerned Women of America Legislative Action Committee

Peter Vodenka, Self, Piedmont Heidi Engelhart, self, Aberdeen Stu Cvrk, Self, Springfield

Michael Boyle, Self, Parkston (Handout(s) #3)

Scott Granville, self, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HJR 5002

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HJR 5002 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Schaefbauer

Second by: Gosch

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-8-1-0)

Voting Yes: Gosch, Lems, Reisch, and Schaefbauer

Voting No: Bahmuller, Emery, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Soye, and Overweg

Excused: Odenbach

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS HJR 5002

Moved by: Heinemann

Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Soye, and Overweg

Voting No: Gosch, Lems, Reisch, and Schaefbauer

Excused: Odenbach

SB 10: shorten the time before records of a Governor or a lieutenant governor are opened to the public.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

Proponents: Justin G. Smith, South Dakota NewsMedia Association, Brookings

MOTION: DO PASS SB 10

Moved by: Bahmuller Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bahmuller, Emery, Hansen, Healy, Heinemann, Jamison, Lems, Reisch,

Schaefbauer, Soye, and Overweg

Excused: Gosch and Odenbach

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Vice-Chair