Minutes: Senate State Affairs Monday, January 27, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Beal, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Jensen (Kevin), Sen. Karr, Sen. Larson,

Sen. Peterson (Sue), Sen. Pischke, Sen. Perry, and Sen. Mehlhaff

The meeting was called to order by Senator Mehlhaff

MOTION: Motion to Amend the Minutes: Add Lincoln County Auditor to Sheri

Lund in testimony

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 24TH

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 60: expand the access and investigatory authority of the state auditor.

Presented by: Marty Jackley, Attorney General, State of South Dakota

Proponents: Rich Sattgast, South Dakota State Auditor (Handout(s) HO#2)

Josh Haeder, South Dakota Treasurer

Opponents: Jim Terwilliger, Commissioner Bureau of Finance and Management

(Handout(s) HO#1)

Bill Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Holly Farris, Board of Regents

Justin G. Smith, Wellmark of South Dakota, Inc., Des Moines, IA

MOTION: AMEND SB 60

60B

On page 1, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "sovereignty." insert " "Agency" does not include a political subdivision as defined \S 1-25-12. "

Moved by: Deibert

Second by: Jensen (Kevin)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Committee Chair Senator Mehlhaff called the committee to recess at 10:53am to reconvene 10 minutes after Senate adjourns this afternoon

Senate State Affairs Reconvened by Chairman Mehlhaff at 3:10PM. Continued with questions on SB60.

MOTION: DO PASS SB 60 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Jensen (Kevin), Karr, Larson, Peterson (Sue), Pischke, Perry,

and Mehlhaff

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 61 UNTIL WEDNESDAY JANUARY 29TH

Moved by: Perry Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Pischke

Second by: Jensen (Kevin)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ JIM MEHLHAFF Jim Mehlhaff, Chair