Minutes: Senate Education Tuesday, January 28, 2025 8:15 AM

.

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Marty, Sen. Nelson, Sen. Peterson (Sue), Sen. Sauder, Sen. Smith,

Sen. Voight, and Sen. Schoenfish

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Schoenfish

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 23RD

Moved by: Voight Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 70: modify the maximum sparsity benefit a sparse school district is eligible to receive.

Presented by: Senator Sam Marty

Proponents: Dr. George Shiplay, self, Bison (Handout(s) 1)

Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Mitch Richter, South Dakota United School Association, Milbank

Opponents: Grant Judson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: DO PASS SB 70

Moved by: Marty Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Marty, Nelson, Peterson (Sue), Sauder, Smith, and Voight

Voting No: Schoenfish

SB 71: revise provisions pertaining to the compulsory age for school attendance.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl

Proponents: Don Haggar, Americans For Prosperity, Ballston, VA

Opponents: Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Samuel J. Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Sioux Falls

Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

**MOTION:** AMEND SB 71

71A

On page 2, line 5, of the Introduced bill, after "child" insert the comma

On page 2, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete " at least five years old" and insert " not younger than five or older than six"

On page 2, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "September," insert " or any child who, by the first day of September, is at least six years old,"

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Smith

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** AMEND THE PENDING AMENDMENT

71B

On the previously adopted amendment (71A), On page 2, line 29, after "Corrections;" insert " or"

Moved by: Smith Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 71 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Marty, Nelson, Peterson (Sue), Voight, and Schoenfish

Voting No: Sauder and Smith

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Nelson Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ KYLE SCHOENFISH Kyle Schoenfish, Chair