Minutes: House Education Monday, January 27, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Baxter, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Garcia, Rep. Halverson,

Rep. Heermann, Rep. Ismay, Rep. Jordan, Rep. Manhart, Rep. Rice, Rep. Schwans, Rep. Stevens, Rep. Uhre-Balk, Rep. Jensen (Phil), and

Rep. Greenfield

The meeting was called to order by Representative Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 24TH

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: Uhre-Balk

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1017: require the acceptance of a cash payment for admission to a school-affiliated event.

Presented by: Representative John Sjaarda

Proponents: Susan Luschas, Self, Brandon (Handout(s) 1)

Soraya Luschas, Self, Brandon

Rodean Culver, Self, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) 2) Nichole McCormack, Self, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) 3)

Marsha Hubren, Self, Avon

Opponents: Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre Samuel 1 Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Sioux Falls

Samuel J. Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Sioux Falls Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Daniel Swartos, South Dakota High School Activities Association, Pierre Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Heather Forney, Board of Regents

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Tiffany Sanderson, Lake Area Technical College

MOTION: AMEND HB 1017

1017A

On page 1, line 15, of the Introduced bill, delete "department-accredited" and insert "accredited nonpublic"

On page 1, line 19, of the Introduced bill, delete "that is conducted" and insert ":

(a) That is conducted"

On page 1, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "fee" delete " to attend"

On page 1, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "or" insert "

(b) In which a qualifying school participates and for which an admission fee is charged; or"

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: Manhart

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1017 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Jordan Second by: Manhart

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: AMEND HB 1017

1017C

On the previously adopted amendment (1017A), On page 1, line 6, after "event" insert ", if the cost of admission is less than or equal to one thousand dollars"

Moved by: Garcia
Second by: Jensen (Phil)
Action: Withdrawn

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1017 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: DeGroot Second by: Uhre-Balk

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (7-8-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, and Greenfield

Voting No: Baxter, Garcia, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice, Schwans, and Jensen (Phil)

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1017 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Jordan Second by: Manhart

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Baxter, Garcia, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice, Schwans, and Jensen (Phil)

Voting No: Arlint, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, and Greenfield

HB 1039 : repeal the programs reimbursing a teacher or school counselor for earning national board certification.

Presented by: Joseph Graves, Department of Education

Opponents: Ann Noyes, Self, Pierre

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Mitch Richter, South Dakota United School Association, Milbank

MOTION: REFER HB 1039 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO NOT

PASS

Moved by: Heermann Second by: DeGroot

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: REFER HB 1039 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON

APPROPRIATIONS WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Jensen (Phil)

Second by: Rice

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Baxter, Garcia, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice, Schwans, Jensen (Phil), and

Greenfield

Voting No: Arlint, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Stevens, and Uhre-Balk

HB 1040: reduce the state's contribution to a subsidized high school dual credit

program.

Presented by: Joseph Graves, Department of Education (Handout(s) 4)

Opponents: Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Vermillion

Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

MOTION: REFER HB 1040 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO NOT

PASS

Moved by: Garcia Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (14-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Baxter, DeGroot, Garcia, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Jordan,

Manhart, Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, Jensen (Phil), and Greenfield

Voting No: Rice

Chair announced the committee will recess and reconvene 15 minutes after

session to complete the agenda.

HB 1042: make an appropriation for historical exhibits and to declare an

emergency.

Presented by: Ben Jones, Department of Education

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1042

Moved by: Jensen (Phil)

Second by: Garcia

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Baxter, DeGroot, Garcia, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Jordan,

Manhart, Rice, Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, Jensen (Phil), and Greenfield

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA J. GREENFIELD Lana J. Greenfield, Chair