Minutes: House Transportation Tuesday, January 28, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Garcia, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Jensen (Phil),

Rep. Mulder, Rep. Reder, Rep. Rehfeldt, Rep. Roe, Rep. Shorma,

Rep. Weems, Rep. Vasgaard, and Rep. Randolph

The meeting was called to order by Representative Randolph

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 23RD

Moved by: Jensen (Phil)

Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1065: repeal the requirement that an adult occupant of a motor vehicle in forward motion must wear a safety belt.

Presented by: Representative Dylan Jordan Proponents: Heather Devries, Self, Madison

Gretchen Weible, Self, Elkton John James, Self, Rapid City

Opponents: Major Robert Whisler, Department of Public Safety

Richard Tieszen, State Farm Insurance, Bloomington, IL

Christine Vinateri-Erickson, Dakota Truck Underwriters/First Dakota Indemnity

Company, Sioux Falls

Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls Christine Vinatieri-Erickson, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, Sioux Falls

Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, Fort Pierre

Craig Matson, South Dakota Insurance Alliance, Sioux Falls Craig Matson, Farmers Mutual of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE

Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre

Justin Bell, South Dakota State Medical Association, Sioux Falls T.J. Nelson, Alliance for Automotive Innovation, Washington, D.C.

Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association,

Webster

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Doug Abraham, American Property Casualty Insurance Association, Chicago, IL

William M. Van Camp, AAA Allied, Alexandria, VA

Catherine Chase, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety, Washington, DC

(Handout Written Testimony 1)

MOTION: DEFER HB 1065 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Rehfeldt Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Duffy, Garcia, Goodwin, Mulder, Reder, Rehfeldt, Roe, Shorma, and

Weems

Voting No: Jensen (Phil) and Randolph

Excused: Vasgaard

SB 38: modify requirements for a vehicle approaching a vehicle that is stopped or occupying the shoulder of the highway with warning lights flashing.

Presented by: Shane Pullman, Department of Transportation

Proponents: Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre

Richard Tieszen, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka

Nancy A. Hoines, Design Professionals Coalition of South Dakota, Pierre

Major Robert Whisler, Department of Public Safety

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

William M. Van Camp, AAA Allied, Alexandria, VA

MOTION: DO PASS SB 38

Moved by: Shorma Second by: Mulder

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Duffy, Garcia, Goodwin, Jensen (Phil), Mulder, Reder, Rehfeldt, Roe,

Shorma, Weems, Vasgaard, and Randolph

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: Weems

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Kaitlyn Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ TONY RANDOLPH
Tony Randolph, Chair