Minutes: House Education Friday, January 24, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Baxter, Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Halverson, Rep. Heermann,

Rep. Ismay, Rep. Jordan, Rep. Manhart, Rep. Rice, Rep. Schwans, Rep. Stevens, Rep. Uhre-Balk, Rep. Jensen (Phil), and Rep. Greenfield

Excused: Rep. Garcia

The meeting was called to order by Representative Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 22ND

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: Manhart

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1004: provide tuition for a student who is placed in a residential treatment center that provides educational programming.

Presented by: Joseph Graves, Department of Education Proponents: Melanie Boetel, Department of Social Services

Linda Turner, Department of Education

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1004

Moved by: DeGroot Second by: Rice

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Baxter, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice,

Schwans, Uhre-Balk, and Jensen (Phil)

Voting No: Stevens and Greenfield

Excused: Garcia

HB 1074: modify the individuals eligible to sign an affidavit of homelessness for purposes of obtaining a free copy of a birth certificate.

Presented by: Representative Erik Muckey (Handout(s) 1,2,3)

Proponents: Amy Iversen, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health, Pierre

Representative Kadyn Wittman Rodd Monts, Self, Detroit MI

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1074

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Baxter, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice,

Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, Jensen (Phil), and Greenfield

Excused: Garcia

HB 1075: modify the persons eligible to sign an affidavit for proof of homelessness for purposes of waiving the fee for a nondriver identification card.

Presented by: Representative Erik Muckey

Proponents: Amy Iversen, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health, Pierre

Representative Kadyn Wittman

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1075

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Uhre-Balk

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Baxter, DeGroot, Halverson, Heermann, Ismay, Jordan, Manhart, Rice,

Schwans, Stevens, Uhre-Balk, Jensen (Phil), and Greenfield

Excused: Garcia

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Jensen (Phil) Second by: Manhart

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA J. GREENFIELD Lana J. Greenfield, Chair