Minutes: Senate Education Thursday, January 23, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Peterson (Sue), Sen. Marty, Sen. Sauder, Sen. Nelson, Sen. Smith,

Sen. Voight, and Sen. Schoenfish

The meeting was called to order by Senator Schoenfish

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 16TH

Moved by: Smith Second by: Nelson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Dr. Joseph Graves, Secretary, Department of Education Power Point presentation reviewing the department #1

SB 51: require the display and curricular inclusion of the Ten Commandments and other documents.

Presented by: Senator John Carley (Handout(s) #2)

Proponents: Matt Krause, self, First Liberty Institute, Plano, Texas

Ray Hacke, self, Pacific Justice Institute, Salem, Oregon

Elijah O'Neal, self, American Journey Experience, Erving, Texas

Amber Rohline, self, Rapid City, South Dakota

Grace Sargent, self, Brookings

Florence K. Thompson, South Dakota Parents Involved in Education, Caputa

Florence K. Thompson, SD Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

Opponents: Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Vermillion

Rev Lauren Stanley, self, Pierre

Samuel J. Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Sioux Falls

Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Samantha Chapman, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation Inc., NY

Mitch Richter, South Dakota United School Association, Milbank

Rev Christen Hallenbeck, self, Sioux Falls

Rev Mercy Hobbs, self, Pierre

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Ross B Garelick Bell, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Rosebud Ross B Garelick Bell, Yankton Sioux Tribe, Wagner

Melissa McCauley, South Dakota Advocacy Network for Women, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 51

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Marty

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 51 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Smith

Second by: Sauder

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Sauder, Smith, and Schoenfish

Voting No: Peterson (Sue), Marty, Nelson, and Voight

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS SB 51

Moved by: Peterson (Sue)

Second by: Marty

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Peterson (Sue), Marty, Nelson, and Voight

Voting No: Sauder, Smith, and Schoenfish

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Dr. Kraig Steinhoff, Superintendent, Huron School District, Huron

Ted Heder, Greater Huron Development, Huron

Eric Larson, President, Huron Regional Medical Center, Huron Jeff Clark, Superintendent, Hitchcock-Tulare School, Tulare

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Voight Second by: Smith

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ KYLE SCHOENFISH Kyle Schoenfish, Chair