Minutes: Senate Judiciary Thursday, January 23, 2025 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Pischke, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Grove, Sen. Blanc,

Sen. Hulse, and Sen. Wheeler

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 16<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Hulse

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## SB 37: revise and repeal provisions related to the 911 emergency surcharge and the 911 Coordination Board.

Presented by: Jason Husby, Department of Public Safety (Handout(s) HO#1, HO#2) Proponents: Craig Matson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka

Jenna R. Severyn, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, FORT PIERRE

Sara Rankin, South Dakota Municipal League, FORT PIERRE

Opponents: Jake Lestock, Cellular Telecommunications Industry Association, Washington

DC

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 37

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Pischke, Duhamel, Mehlhaff, Grove, Blanc, and Hulse

Voting No: Wheeler

SB 19: repeal the expiration date for the 911 emergency surcharge increase.

**MOTION:** TO TABLE SB 19

Moved by: Mehlhaff Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Pischke, Duhamel, Mehlhaff, Grove, Blanc, Hulse, and Wheeler

## SB 7: prohibit the adoption or implementation of certain policies related to immigration enforcement.

Presented by: Senator Casey Crabtree

Proponents: T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, NE

Katie Hruska, Governor's Office

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 7

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Hulse

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Pischke, Duhamel, Grove, Blanc, Hulse, and Wheeler

Excused: Mehlhaff

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 7 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Hulse Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER
David Wheeler, Chair