Minutes: Joint Committee on Appropriations Friday, January 24, 2025 7:30 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Miskimins, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Moore, Sen. Vilhauer, Sen. Carley,

> Rep. May, Sen. Voita, Rep. Jorgenson, Sen. Howard, Rep. Sjaarda, Sen. Foster, Rep. Muckey, Rep. Novstrup, Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Lapka,

Rep. Venhuizen, Rep. Derby, and Sen. Otten

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Otten

## HB 1033: make an appropriation for costs related to emergencies and disasters impacting the state and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Kristi Turman, Department of Public Safety Angie Lemieux, Department of Public Safety Others:

MOTION: **DO PASS HB 1033** 

Moved by: Howard Second by: Venhuizen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, May, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Foster, Novstrup, Zikmund, Venhuizen, Derby, and Otten

Excused: Sjaarda, Muckey, and Lapka

HB 1034: make an appropriation for costs related to the suppression of wildfires impacting the state and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Kristi Turman, Department of Public Safety

**DO PASS HB 1034** MOTION:

Moved by: Venhuizen Second by: May

Action:

Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Miskimins, Kassin, Moore, Vilhauer, Carley, May, Voita, Jorgenson, Howard,

Foster, Novstrup, Zikmund, Venhuizen, Derby, and Otten

Excused: Sjaarda, Muckey, and Lapka

## **Department of Tribal Relations Budget Hearing**

David Flute, Department of Tribal Relations

Fred Osborn, Department of Tribal Relations Hallie Willey, Department of Tribal Relations Algin Young, Department of Tribal Relations

## Public Utilities Commission of the State of South Dakota Budget Hearing

Gary Hanson, Public Utilities Commission

Cindy Kemnitz, Public Utilities Commission

Kristen Edwards, Public Utilities Commission

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Muckey Second by: Voita

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Bill Douglas, Committee Secretary

/s/ ERNIE OTTEN /s/ MIKE DERBY
Ernie Otten, Co-Chair Mike Derby, Co-Chair