## AGENDA - Revised 11/11/24

## **Executive Board**

President Pro Tempore Lee Schoenbeck, Chair Speaker Hugh Bartels, Vice Chair Senator Reynold Nesiba, Ranking Minority Member

Sixth Meeting, 2024 Interim Tuesday, November 12, 2024 Room 414 – State Capitol Pierre, South Dakota

SOUTH DAKOTA

Subcommittee

8:00 AM Technology Subcommittee (Room 413)

**Full Executive Board** 

8:30 AM Call to Order and Determination of Quorum

Approval of Minutes – August 15, 2024 and October 29, 2024

8:35 AM Technology Subcommittee Report

8:45 AM Interim Committee Final Reports:

- Joint Committee on Appropriations (Doc. 1)
  - o Representative Mike Derby, Lead Co-Chair
  - Senator Jean Hunhoff, Co-Chair
- Interim Rules Review Committee (Doc. 2)
  - Senator Jean Hunhoff, Chair
- Code Commission (Doc. 3)
  - Margaret Vandemore Gillespie, Chair
- Ag. Land Assessment Task Force (Doc. 4)
  - o Representative Kirk Chaffee, Chair
- State Tribal Relations Committee (<u>Doc. 5</u>)
  - o Representative Tamara St. John, Co-Chair
  - o Senator Michael Rohl, Co-Chair
- Government Operations and Audit Committee (<u>Doc. 6</u>)
  - o Representative Ernie Otten, Chair
- Medical Marijuana Oversight Committee (<u>Doc. 7</u>)
  - o Senator Erin Tobin, Chair
- One Hundredth Session Planning Committee (<u>Doc. 8</u>)
  - o Representative Tony Venhuizen, Chair
- Select Committee on Legislative Relationships with Ellsworth Air Force Base (Doc. 9)
  - o Representative Gary Cammack, Co-Chair
  - o Senator Michael Walsh, Co-Chair
- Study Committee on Artificial Intelligence and Regulation of Internet Access by Minors (<u>Doc. 10</u>)
  - o Representative Mike Weisgram, Co-Chair
  - o Senator Steve Kolbeck, Co-Chair
- Study Committee on Property Tax Assessment Methodology (<u>Doc. 11</u>)
  - o Representative Drew Peterson, Co-Chair
  - Senator Randy Deibert, Co-Chair

10:30 AM South Dakota – Ireland Trade Commission Report (Doc. 12)

10:45 AM Judicial Opinions Report 2024 (Doc. 13)

Melanie Dumdei, Assistant Chief for Legal

11:00 AM

FY 2026 LRC Budget Request Amendment, Legislator Salaries

John McCullough, LRC Director and Jeff Mehlhaff, LRC Deputy Director and Fiscal Chief

11:10 AM

LRC staff updates and New Member Orientation Agenda

John McCullough, LRC Director

11:30 AM

Lunch

LRC Issue Memoranda

- Eminent Domain: An Overview (Doc. 14)
  - o Melanie Dumdei, Assistant Chief for Legal
- Critical Minerals in South Dakota (<u>Doc. 15</u>)
  - Lance Nixon, Research Analyst
- Property Taxation—Changes Since 1989 (<u>Doc. 16</u>)
  - Will Steward, Research Analyst
- Update to the Medicaid—A Study Focusing on Cost Containment, Demographics and Comparison with the Systems in Other States (<u>Doc. 17</u>)
  - o Bill Douglas, Fiscal Analyst

1:00 PM Adjourn and Reconvene as the Bonding Committee

## Members

Senators—Jim Bolin, Casey Crabtree, Steve Kolbeck, Reynold Nesiba, Lee Schoenbeck, Erin Tobin, and Dean Wink.

Representatives—Hugh Bartels, Randy Gross, Chris Karr, Oren Lesmeister, Will Mortenson, Rebecca Reimer, Mike Stevens, and Mike Weisgram.

This meeting is being held in a physically accessible location. Any individual needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) in advance of the meeting to make further arrangements.

All committee agendas, minutes, and audio are available on the LRC website: <a href="http://www.sdlegislature.gov">http://www.sdlegislature.gov</a>. Live committee audio is provided by South Dakota Public Broadcasting and is also available at <a href="http://www.sd.net">http://www.sd.net</a>. You may subscribe to electronic delivery of agendas and minutes at My LRC on the LRC website.