Committee: House Local Government Tuesday, February 27, 2024 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Aylward, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Conzet, Rep. Jamison,

Rep. Ladner, Rep. Lems, Rep. Overweg, Rep. Peterson (Sue), Rep. Sjaarda,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Fitzgerald, and Rep. Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Drury

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 13<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Conzet Second by: Bahmuller

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 199: revise provisions pertaining to the consolidation or boundary changes

of counties.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase Proponents: Senator David Johnson

Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 199

Moved by: Auch Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Aylward, Bahmuller, Conzet, Jamison, Ladner, Lems, Overweg,

Peterson (Sue), Sjaarda, Wittman, Fitzgerald, and Drury

SB 219: modify provisions related to the control of counties and municipalities over medical marijuana establishments within their jurisdictions.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Jeremiah M. Murphy, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 219

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Aylward

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Aylward, Bahmuller, Conzet, Jamison, Ladner, Lems, Overweg,

Peterson (Sue), Sjaarda, Wittman, and Drury

Voting No: Fitzgerald

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Fitzgerald Second by: Bahmuller

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

James Sapp, Committee Secretary

/s/ BECKY J. DRURY Becky J. Drury, Chair