Committee: Senate Committee on Appropriations Monday, February 26, 2024 9:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bolin, Sen. Foster, Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Kolbeck (Jack), Sen. Wiik,

Sen. Wink, Sen. Breitling, and Sen. Hunhoff

Excused: Sen. Maher

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 20<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Wink Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**HB 1060**: revise certain provisions related to travel reimbursement.

Proponents: Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1060

Moved by: Wiik Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Wiik, Wink, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Excused: Maher

**HB 1118:** revise unclaimed property provisions.

Proponents: Representative Tony Venhuizen

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Opponents: Josh Haeder, State Treasurer

Others: Jason Williams, State Treasurer Office

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1118 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Wiik Second by: Bolin

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect

**MOTION:** SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1118

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Maher

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Foster, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Maher, Wink, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: Bolin and Wiik

HB 1211: repeal the Midwestern Regional Higher Education Compact.

Proponents: Representative Tony Venhuizen

Nathan Lukkes, Board of Regents

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1211

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Maher

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Zikmund, Kolbeck (Jack), Maher, Wiik, Wink, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: Foster

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Wiik

Second by: Kolbeck (Jack)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Gerry Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF Jean Hunhoff, Chair