Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 27, 2024 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Gross, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Lems, Rep. Peterson (Drew),

Rep. Sauder, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. St. John, Rep. Wangsness,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Chase

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Chase

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 22ND

Moved by: Schneider Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Ag Unity Sponsored Breakfast for the Committee.

SB 173: provide a landowner-on-own-land license for antierless elk.

Presented by: Representative Neal Pinnow

Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks Proponents:

> Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City Jason Alan Glodt, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre

George Morey Vandel III, South Dakota Waterfowl Association, Webster Opponents:

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, North Sioux

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Noel Chicoine, Self, Pierre, SD

MOTION: DO PASS SB 173

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Wangsness

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Auch, Gross, Ladner, Lems, Peterson (Drew), Sauder, Schneider, St. John, Voting Yes:

Wangsness, Wittman, Overweg, and Chase

Voting No: Sjaarda

Leopold Award Presentation Angela Ehlers introduced the 2023 Award winners Slovak Ranch- Bill and Pennie Slovak

Angell Ehlers announced that the application process for the 2024 Leopold Award will begin the middle of March

MOTION: **ADJOURN**

Moved by: Wangsness

House Agriculture and Natural Resources		Tuesday, February 27, 2024 7:45 AM
Second by: Action:	Sjaarda Prevailed by voice vote	
Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary		
	_	/s/ ROGER CHASE Roger Chase, Chair